Skip to main content

Library Services

Acquistions & Technical Services

The DiPietro Library is committed to the purchase of information resources in all appropriate formats. As responsible stewards of the library collection, Franklin Pierce University librarians monitor collection needs with the intent of providing the best possible access to information and service to patrons. The Director of Library Services, who has ultimate responsibility for all purchase decisions, annually allocates the information resources budget for print and electronic resources. Because the University stresses teaching over research, no attempt is made to build a comprehensive research collection. Library collection development is responsive to changing institutional and academic priorities. The curriculum itself is the primary guide to collection needs. A good quality collection is emphasized over quantity.

Collection Development Policies

General

 

The DiPietro Library is committed to the purchase of information resources in all appropriate formats. As responsible stewards of the library collection, Franklin Pierce University librarians monitor collection needs with the intent of providing the best possible access to information and service to patrons. The Director of Library Services, who has ultimate responsibility for all purchase decisions, annually allocates the information resources budget for print and electronic resources. Because the university stresses teaching over research, no attempt is made to build a comprehensive research collection. Library collection development is responsive to changing institutional and academic priorities. The curriculum itself is the primary guide to collection needs. A good quality collection is emphasized over quantity.

Suggestions for Acquisition

 

All members of the Franklin Pierce University community are encouraged to make suggestions for acquisition of library materials. Please send suggestions for particular items or for topics to the collection development librarian or leave a suggestion in the box on the Circulation Desk.

Gifts

 

The DiPietro Library welcomes some donations of materials but reserves the right to decide whether or not to accession donated items depending on their usefulness and relevance to the collection. Please consult with the collection development librarian before donating materials. Donated items become the property of the DiPietro Library. All appraisals of the value of a donation are strictly the responsibility of the donor and will not be undertaken by the Library; nor does the Library in any way affirm the donor's valuation. Donated items not chosen for inclusion in the collection will be sold or given away unless the donor has specifically requested to have them returned to his/her possession.

Some ideas for your unwanted books may be found at: http://www.gotbooks.com/

The DiPietro Library also welcomes gifts in honor of graduating seniors, faculty or others. Please contact the Director of Library Services if you would like to fund a book in someone's honor.

Weeding

The collection is weeded on a regular basis to remove items that have lost their usefulness. Candidates for withdrawal include outdated materials and items in poor condition.

More Information

 

For additional information, please contact the collection development librarian or the Director of Library Services.