Business Law and Human Resources

Choose "Human Resource Management" from Divisions and Interest Groups. Membership information. Links to other Internet resources.

Based in Washington, DC, the American Psychological Association (APA) is a scientific and professional organization that represents psychology in the United States. With 150,000 members, APA is the largest association of psychologists worldwide.

ASQ is a society of individual and organizational members "dedicated to the ongoing development, advancement, and promotion of quality concepts, principles, and techniques." Products and services address issues such as quality management, benchmarking, productivity, and more. This site includes information on the ISO 9000 and ISO 14000 standards, QS-9000 requirements, and ASQ certification programs. Also included are information on ASQ products, education courses and conferences.

The American Sociological Association is a non-profit membership association that is dedicated to advancing sociology as a scientific discipline and profession serving the public good. Founded in 1905, it is an association of nearly 14,000 members and home to 44 special interest sections with more than 21,000 members. ASA hosts of an annual meeting with more than 6,000 participants and is a publisher of 10 professional journals and magazines.

Members are active in all types of staffing services available today including: temporary help, professional employer services, managed services, payroll, placement services, temporary-to-full-time services, long-term staffing, and others. Non-members can access online directories, calendar of events, an idea exchange on current topics, industry news, information on publications, and membership information.

The Association for Talent Development (ATD), formerly the American Society for Training & Development (ASTD), is the world’s largest association dedicated to those who develop talent in organizations. These professionals help others achieve their full potential by improving their knowledge, skills, and abilities. ATD’s members come from more than 120 countries and work in public and private organizations in every industry sector. ATD supports the work of professionals locally in more than 125 chapters, international strategic partners, and global member networks. Additional electronic content is available at the ILR Library. Please ask for assistance at the ILR Reference Desk.

For over 9 years, BPM.com has been the Internet's leading destination for articles, news, research and white papers on Business Process Management, Process Modeling, Business Rules, and Case Management. Our registered user group of 40,000 practitioners and process professionals represents over $1 Billion of identified annual investment in BPM.

CIPD is the major UK association for HR practitioners and provides a wealth of information for its members and for the public.

EBRI promotes the understanding and furtherance of employee benefits national policy. It is a neutral organization that does objective research on employee benefit programs and public policy with regard to employee benefits. Additional electronic content is available at the ILR Library. Please ask for assistance at the ILR Reference Desk.

This organization's members include top HR executives. Read its Policy Briefs on HR topics.

Membership information. Conference information. Management Resources Center with information on intranets, job descriptions, salaries. White papers. Buyer's Guide. Links to other Internet resources. Keyword searching ability is forthcoming. Not as extensive as the SHRM site, but it looks like they are working towards that with many areas "under construction."

Issues important to public sector managers and employees. Center for Personnel Research provides sample policies and other guidance to members, but non-members can view samples such as "NYS Internet Acceptable Use." Government Affairs, Training, and Global HR are among other topics. Benchmarking information for members.

Founded in 1962, the International Society for Performance Improvement (ISPI) is an international association dedicated to improving productivity and performance in the workplace. ​

The Labor and Employment Relations Association, formerly the Industrial Relations Research Association, is an organization of professionals interested in industrial relations and human resources. Its 3,000 members include academics and practitioners. LERA publications, including its periodical, Perspectives on Work; its Annual Research Volume; and its Proceedings provide analysis of collective bargaining and industrial relations issues. View the index of post 1992 LERA and IRRA publications.

The website of this major U.S. association for HR practitioners provides a wealth of information for its members and for the public. Additional electronic content is available at the ILR Library. Please ask for assistance at the ILR Reference Desk.

SIOP is the premier membership organization for those practicing and teaching industrial and organizational (I-O) psychology. I-O psychology is a dynamic and growing field that encompasses workplace issues at the individual and organizational level. I-O psychologists apply research that improves the well-being and performance of people and the organizations that employ them.

SCIP is a global nonprofit membership organization for professionals that create and manage business knowledge - specifically, the rapidly growing field of competitive intelligence (the legal and ethical collection and analysis of information regarding the capabilities, vulnerabilities, and intentions of business competitors). Many SCIP members have backgrounds in market research, strategic analysis, or science and technology.

An international association with a mission to promote telecommuting, the organization's web site provides information on membership, upcoming workshops, a listing of resources and publications, and a telemanager discussion group. TelCoa focuses on how this technology is changing our lifestyles, organizational structures and workplace management, along with the policies, processes and procedures that support them.

Human Resource Executive magazine was established in 1987 and continues today as the premier publication focused on strategic issues in HR. Written primarily for vice presidents and directors of human resources, the magazine provides these key decision-makers with news, profiles of HR visionaries and success stories of human resource innovators. Stories cover all areas of human resource management

List of publications available from this imprint of the Cornell University Press. The ILR Press has published books about the workplace for over fifty years.

Recent publications relevant to HR professionals. IHRIM members get a discount off the list price if ordered from this site.

Official publication of the Labor and Employment Relations Association (LERA). See Tables of Contents, selected full text, and subscription information.

Published by the Society for Human Resource Management. Most recent issue online along with a search engine of back issues by keyword or topic. Articles have links to other sites. Subscription information available.

Wharton Business School offers recent news articles and general information about the field of Human Resources.

Human Resource Executive Online offers resources including news, tools, and articles about HR.