Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Featured Books: Business

A selection of new titles in Business.

About

New Books - Business

These items are highlights from newly acquired materials selected to support the information needs of the College of Business (COB)

For more information on each of these books, click the link to see the book in the catalog.

Pharma: Greed, lies, and the poisoning of America

BEST BOOKS OF MARCH - APPLE BOOKS TOP TEN PICKS FOR MARCH BOOKS - CHRISTIAN SCIENCE MONITOR BEST TRUE CRIME PICKS IN MARCH - CRIMEREADS MOST ANTICIPATED BOOKS OF 2020 - LITHUB Award-winning journalist and New York Times bestselling author Gerald Posner traces the heroes and villains of the trillion-dollar-a-year pharmaceutical industry and uncovers how those once entrusted with improving life have often betrayed that ideal to corruption and reckless profiteering--with deadly consequences. Pharmaceutical breakthroughs such as anti­biotics and vaccines rank among some of the greatest advancements in human history. Yet exorbitant prices for life-saving drugs, safety recalls affecting tens of millions of Americans, and soaring rates of addiction and overdose on pre­scription opioids have caused many to lose faith in drug companies. Now, Americans are demanding a national reckoning with a monolithic industry. Pharma introduces brilliant scientists, in-corruptible government regulators, and brave whistleblowers facing off against company exec­utives often blinded by greed. A business that profits from treating ills can create far deadlier problems than it cures. Addictive products are part of the industry's DNA, from the days when corner drugstores sold morphine, heroin, and cocaine, to the past two decades of dangerously overprescribed opioids. Pharma also uncovers the real story of the Sacklers, the family that became one of America's wealthiest from the success of OxyContin, their blockbuster narcotic painkiller at the center of the opioid crisis. Relying on thousands of pages of government and corporate archives, dozens of hours of interviews with insiders, and previously classified FBI files, Posner exposes the secrets of the Sacklers' rise to power--revelations that have long been buried under a byzantine web of interlocking companies with ever-changing names and hidden owners. The unexpected twists and turns of the Sackler family saga are told against the startling chronicle of a powerful industry that sits at the intersection of public health and profits. Pharma reveals how and why American drug com­panies have put earnings ahead of patients.

Digital Disruption in Marketing and Communications

This book sets out the new frontier of marketing and communication through real case histories. Companies must rethink their traditional approaches to successfully face the upcoming challenges. They must learn how to innovate and change things when they go well. New emerging technologies such as AI and IoT are the new frontiers of the digital transformation that are radically changing the way consumers and companies communicate and engage with each other. Marketing makes a company a change-maker, while communications tell the story to engage customers and stakeholders. The book introduces brand positioning (to match brand values and consumers' attributes), and brand as human being (to raise trust, loyalty and engagement among customers and stakeholders), through Enel X and its partnership with Formula E in the e-mobility case, and the PMI case (its disruptive effect on tobacco industry). After a deep analysis of the disruptive effects on business models of the digital transformation, the book explores digital communications through the Pietro Coricelli case (how a well-designed digital strategy can raise reputation and sales). The book also provides a new holistic approach and identifies a future leader, through the H-FARM case (how to disrupt business models and education). The book is aimed at researchers, students and practitioners, and provides an improved understanding of marketing and communications, and the evolution of the strategic, organisational, and behavioural model.

Fit to Compete: Why honest conversations about your company's capabilities are the key to a winning strategy

Is Silence Killing Your Strategy? In his thirty years of working in corporations, Harvard Business School professor Michael Beer has witnessed firsthand how organizational silence derails strategic objectives. When employees can't speak truth to power, senior leaders don't hear what they need to hear about their company's fitness to compete, and employees lose trust in those leaders and become less committed to change. In Fit to Compete, Beer presents an antidote to silence--principles and a time-tested innovative process for holding honest conversations with everyone in your organization. Used by over eight hundred organizations across the globe, the strategic fitness process has helped leaders in a diverse range of industries--including medical technology, information technology, banking, restaurant chains, and pharmaceuticals--hear the raw but necessary truth about the sources of misalignment between their strategies and their organizations. In addition to step-by-step instructions, Beer offers detailed and illustrative case studies of companies that have conducted honest conversations to great effect. He also shows how to apply the process more broadly to a variety of strategic challenges and at multiple levels throughout the organization. Practical, enlightening, and comprehensive, Fit to Compete is the book you should turn to if you to want create winning strategies that your entire company will rally behind.

The Consumer Revolution: Tipping the balance of power

In this ground breaking book, Naren Nath provides a sweeping narrative of revolutions since the dawn of human civilization, leading up to the current and most impactful of them all--the consumer revolution. The book paints a gripping picture of consumers melding together, akin to nuclear fusion, to unleash unprecedented amount of energy and creativity, setting in motion a stunning transfer of power from traditional institutions. In doing so, it tosses up myriad new business ideas, and also highlights some of the sinister implications if the revolution is not harnessed correctly. The Consumer Revolution provides a fascinating context and rationale for some of the biggest current events and trends around the world. It is a stirring call for action to billions of everyday consumers to express their will and wield power in this ultimate doctrine of consumer empowerment.

Routledge Handbook of Sports Marketing

Sports marketing has become a cornerstone of successful sports management and business, driving growth in sport organisations and widening fan-bases. Showcasing the latest thinking and research in sports marketing from around the world, the Routledge Handbook of Sports Marketing goes further than any other book in exploring the full range of this exciting discipline. Featuring contributions from world-leading scholars and practitioners from across the globe, the book examines theories, concepts, issues and best practice across six thematic sections--brands, sponsorship, ambush marketing, fans and spectators, media, and ethics and development--and examines key topics such as: consumer behaviour marketing communications strategic marketing international marketing experiential marketing and marketing and digital media Comprehensive and authoritative, the Routledge Handbook of Sports Marketing is an essential reference for any student or researcher working in sport marketing, sport management, sport business, sports administration or sport development, and for all practitioners looking to develop their professional knowledge.

Suggest a Book

Not finding the resources you need in the library's catalog?

Fill out this form to suggest a book! We are happy to consider all suggestions from faculty, staff, students, and the community.