Skip to main content

Featured Books: Health and Natural Sciences

A selection of new titles in Health and Natural Sciences.

New Books - Health & Natural Sciences

These items are highlights from newly acquired materials selected to support the information needs of the College of Health and Natural Sciences (COHNS)

For more information on each of these books, click the link to see the book in the catalog.

Climate and Culture: Multidisciplinary Perspectives on a Warming World

How does culture interact with the way societies understand, live with, and act in relation to climate change? While the importance of the exchanges between culture, society and climate in the context of global environmental change is increasingly recognised, the empirical evidence is fragmented and too often constrained by disciplinary boundaries. Written by an international team of experts, this book provides cutting-edge and critical perspectives on how culture both facilitates and inhibits our ability to address and make sense of climate change and the challenges it poses to societies globally. Through a set of case studies spanning the social sciences and humanities, it explores the role of culture in relation to climate and its changes at different temporal and spatial levels; illustrates how approaching climate change through the cultural dimension enriches the range and depth of societal engagements; and establishes connections between theory and practice, which can stimulate action-oriented initiatives.

The Scientific Method: An evolution of thinking from Darwin to Dewey

The surprising history of the scientific method--from an evolutionary account of thinking to a simple set of steps--and the rise of psychology in the nineteenth century. The idea of a single scientific method, shared across specialties and teachable to ten-year-olds, is just over a hundred years old. For centuries prior, science had meant a kind of knowledge, made from facts gathered through direct observation or deduced from first principles. But during the nineteenth century, science came to mean something else: a way of thinking. The Scientific Method tells the story of how this approach took hold in laboratories, the field, and eventually classrooms, where science was once taught as a natural process. Henry M. Cowles reveals the intertwined histories of evolution and experiment, from Charles Darwin's theory of natural selection to John Dewey's vision for science education. Darwin portrayed nature as akin to a man of science, experimenting through evolution, while his followers turned his theory onto the mind itself. Psychologists reimagined the scientific method as a problem-solving adaptation, a basic feature of cognition that had helped humans prosper. This was how Dewey and other educators taught science at the turn of the twentieth century--but their organic account was not to last. Soon, the scientific method was reimagined as a means of controlling nature, not a product of it. By shedding its roots in evolutionary theory, the scientific method came to seem far less natural, but far more powerful. This book reveals the origin of a fundamental modern concept. Once seen as a natural adaptation, the method soon became a symbol of science's power over nature, a power that, until recently, has rarely been called into question.

Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences

The oceans cover 70% of the Earth's surface, and are critical components of Earth's climate system. This new edition of Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences summarizes the breadth of knowledge about them, providing revised, up to date entries as well coverage of new topics in the field. New and expanded sections include microbial ecology, high latitude systems and the cryosphere, climate and climate change, hydrothermal and cold seep systems. The structure of the work provides a modern presentation of the field, reflecting the input and different perspective of chemical, physical and biological oceanography, the specialized area of expertise of each of the three Editors-in-Chief. In this framework maximum attention has been devoted to making this an organic and unified reference. Represents a one-stop. organic information resource on the breadth of ocean science research Reflects the input and different perspective of chemical, physical and biological oceanography, the specialized area of expertise of each of the three Editors-in-Chief New and expanded sections include microbial ecology, high latitude systems and climate change Provides scientifically reliable information at a foundational level, making this work a resource for students as well as active researches

Diseases and Disorders: A nursing therapeutics manual

Diagnosis Related Groups (DRGs) for each disorder The primary nursing diagnosis for each disease and disorder Diagnostic tables that make test results easy to reference The newest information available on the genetic basis of the diseases and disorders Up-to-date explanations of the physiology of the disorders and how it related to risks and complications Collaborative and independent interventions Pharmacological tables that outline the dosages, mechanisms of action, and rationales of the drugs most commonly used for a disorder Separate headings for psychosocial issues Outlines for required documentation Home care and discharge guidelines and patient teaching checklists Evidence-based practice section Global health considerations that reflect the issues that transcend national borders

Introduction to Human Nutrition

Now in its third edition, the best-selling Introduction to Human Nutrition continues to foster an integrated, broad knowledge of the discipline and presents the fundamental principles of nutrition science in an accessible way. With up-to-date coverage of a range of topics from food composition and dietary reference standards to phytochemicals and contemporary challenges of global food safety, this comprehensive text encourages students to think critically about the many factors and influences of human nutrition and health outcomes. Offers a global, multidisciplinary perspective on food and nutrition Covers nutrition and metabolism of proteins, lipids, carbohydrates and vitamins and minerals Explores new developments in functional foods, supplements and food fortification, and future challenges for nutrition research and practice Explains the digestion, absorption, circulatory transport, and cellular uptake of nutrients Demonstrates the structure and characteristics of nutrients, and the relationship with disease prevention A primary text in nutritional science classes worldwide, Introduction to Human Nutrition is a vital resource for students in areas of nutrition, dietetics, and related subjects that involve principles of nutrition science.

Dreeben-Irimia's Introduction to Physical Therapist Practice for Physical Therapist Assistants

Dreeben-Irimia's Introduction to Physical Therapy Practice for Physical Therapist Assistants, Fourth Edition introduces students to the role of the physical therapist assistant in physical therapy care.

Molecular Machines: A materials science approach

Molecular Machines presents a dynamic new approach to the physics of enzymes and DNA from the perspective of materials science. Unified around the concept of molecular deformability--how proteins and DNA stretch, fold, and change shape--this book describes the complex molecules of life from the innovative perspective of materials properties and dynamics, in contrast to structural or purely chemical approaches. It covers a wealth of topics, including nonlinear deformability of enzymes and DNA; the chemo-dynamic cycle of enzymes; supra-molecular constructions with internal stress; nano-rheology and viscoelasticity; and chemical kinetics, Brownian motion, and barrier crossing. Essential reading for researchers in materials science, engineering, and nanotechnology, the book also describes the landmark experiments that have established the materials properties and energy landscape of large biological molecules. Molecular Machines is also ideal for the classroom. It gives graduate students a working knowledge of model building in statistical mechanics, making it an essential resource for tomorrow's experimentalists in this cutting-edge field. In addition, mathematical methods are introduced in the bio-molecular context--for example, DNA conformational transitions are used to illustrate the transfer matrix formalism. The result is a generalized approach to mathematical problem solving that enables students to apply their findings more broadly. Molecular Machines represents the next leap forward in nanoscience, as researchers strive to harness proteins, enzymes, and DNA as veritable machines in medicine, technology, and beyond.