Library Guides: College Libraries Contribute to Student Retention: Home

Report: College Libraries Contribute to Student Retention

INTRODUCTION:

The LibGuide: College Libraries Contribute to Student Retention contains this report, my review and compilation of assessments, studies and results from the ACRL's report, Academic Library Impact on Student Learning and Success: Findings from Assessment in Action Team Projects and books and articles on the topic of college libraries contribute to student retention within the last five years. One book, College Student Retention is an earlier book. This book was extremely helpful in reviewing, compiling, reporting and presenting my findings on the topic of college libraries contribute to student retention. A separate section includes a list of additional articles for your information. Also there is a separate section that lists articles on Open Education Resources (OER) Contribute to Student Retention for you information. A PowerPoint presentation for this report and LibGuide is available upon request.

COLLEGE STUDENT RETENTION:

In the introductory section of the book College Student Retention the author Joseph B. Berger discusses the importance of college student retention.

At college students:

develop critical thinking skills
learn to critically analyze an issue
wade through jargon and images
ascertain the story behind the story in newspapers, television, radio, web, cell phones
obtain vital information from periodicals, professional associations, conferences, books and skill enhancement
develop lifelong learning skills
academically integrate and interact in classroom discussions, collaborative learning experience and study groups
socially integrate and interact in their environment

This list can also be an introduction on how college libraries contribute to the adjustment of students to college, their academic performance, their social connectiveness and their decision to remain enrolled to graduation. All college library resources (books, e-books, online databases), services (instruction, reference/research assistance, interlibrary loan) and space (study rooms, events) contribute to student college retention.

DIPIETRO LIBRARY

This LibGuide: was created for the DiPietro Library LibGuide collection to show the important role college libraries across the nation play in campus retention efforts and to demonstrate the important role college libraries in general and the DiPietro Library specifically play in retention.

The DiPietro Library at Franklin Pierce University in Rindge, New Hampshire mission statement is:

The DiPietro Library supports the University curriculum by providing diverse resources to promote intellectual curiosity and by offering instruction in the discovery, evaluation, and use of information.

The DiPietro Library profile is:

In support of its educational mission, the Franklin Pierce University Library provides a comfortable open stack environment for study, research, and group study. Our collection includes books, eBooks, DVDs, video games, and audio numbering over 270,000 titles, as well as subscriptions to over 35,496 full-text electronic and print periodical titles. The Curriculum Library includes a wealth of resources related to K-12 teaching and learning and children's literature.

The DiPietro Library provides all of the resources (books, e-books, online databases), services (instruction, reference/research assistance, interlibrary loan) and space (study rooms, events) that contribute to student college retention.

ACADEMIC LIBRARY IMPACT ON STUDENT LEARNING AND SUCCESS: FINDINGS FROM ASSESSMENT IN ACTION TEAM PROJECTS: EXECUTIVE SUMMARY:

The Executive Summary to the ACRL, Academic Library Impact on Student Learning and Success: Findings from Assessment in Action Team Projects reports that "The higher education community now has compelling assessment findings that tell a strong story about the multiple ways that academic libraries are contributing to student learning and success."

Listed and in a chart below are the multiple ways college libraries contribute to student learning, success and retention:

College libraries offer library instruction for:

information literacy
course integration
academic/services collaboration

College libraries offer reference/research assistance:

one-on-one
small and large group

College library resources and services are used to develop skills to:

research topics
find credible sources
select appropriate sources
use appropriate sources
inquire
problem solve
effectively identify information
critically think
reason ethically
identify relevant sources
evaluate relevant sources

Library instruction and use of library resources and services adds value to:

long term academic experience
doing better in courses
higher course grades
higher GPA
one term retention
long term retention
confidence
course assignments
good academic standing
student learning
student success

College library events contribute to:

retention
academic rapport
student engagement
social interaction
student learning
student success
life long learning
personalized interests

College library study rooms relate positively to:

quiet study/research
group collaboration/research

PART OF THE CONCLUDING STATEMENT IN THE BOOK: PROFILES OF ACADEMIC LIBRARY EFFORTS TO ENHANCE STUDENT RETENTION READS:

"All efforts to demonstrate today’s library as relevant to today’s user is invaluable. Services can be grand or small, expensive or low-cost, and can affect many or few students. However, all services of all types can influence retention positively and help students succeed, which makes services worthwhile."

BRIEF SUMMARIES OF THE STUDIES AND RESULTS FROM BOOKS AND ARTICLES DISCUSSED IN THIS LIBGUIDE: COLLEGE LIBRARIES CONTRIBUTE TO STUDENT RETENTION:

PROFILES OF ACADEMIC LIBRARY EFFORTS TO ENHANCE STUDENT RETENTION:

This book reports on a study that demonstrates a correlation between using library services and higher academic achievement at the University of Central Florida, UCF Libraries.

Results:

Library users had a higher average GPA at the end of the semester (3.20) compared to library non-users (3.05).
Library users received more A grades than non-users.
About 40% of UCF students used one more library services, averaging 2.64 uses per student.

Holderman, S., & Primary Research Group. (2019). Profiles of Academic Library Efforts to Enhance Student Retention . Primary Research Group Inc.

LIBRARY USAGE, INSTRUCTION, AND STUDENT SUCCESS ACROSS DISCIPLINES: A MULTILEVEL MODEL:

In the study Library usage, instruction, and student success across disciplines: A multilevel model approach:

Three outcome variables were modeled:

Students’ library resource usage.
Students’ perception of library contribution to academic success.
Students’ cumulative GPA.

Results:

Humanities had the highest in usage and nearly the highest in library contributes to success.
Library resource usage and library contributes to the academic success varied quite a bit by discipline.
Veterinary Medicine with library contributes to success average 200 percent higher library resource usage than those without.
Physical Sciences & Engineering, Math & Computer Science, and Humanities graduate students with library contributes to success have 75 percent higher library resources usage than those without.
All Arts & Design and Humanities reported at least some library resource usage.
Veterinary Medicine students had a wider range of GPA than other graduate students.
When students do use library resources, the cumulative GPA is higher on average as library resource use doubles.

In the discussion section of this study the author states and asks the question:

Educational research has found compelling linkages between students’ sense of belonging with their retention and success. Might it be that repeated library building use leads to their greater familiarity and comfort, contributing to a sense of “belonging” at the library where one can “fit in” and engage in various scholarly behaviors and activities likely to lead to success?

Anderson, L. L., & García, S. A. V. (2020). Library usage, instruction, and student success across disciplines: A multilevel model approach. College & Research Libraries, 81(3), 459.

COMPLEXITIES OF DEMONSTRATING LIBRARY VALUE: AN EXPLORATORY STUDY OF RESEACH CONSULTATIONS:

This study Complexities of Demonstrating Library Value: An Exploratory Study of Research Consultations addressed correlations between lengthy research consultations with librarians and student success, measured by either semester GPA or course grade at the University of Northern Iowa Rod Library..

The average semester GPA for all participants was compared to the average GPA for the entire student body:

The spring 2017 GPA for participants receiving library consultations was 3.33, for the entire student body was 2.83.
The fall 2017 GPA for participants was 3.39, the student body GPA of 2.74.

Results comparing students in a social work course participating in this study with the students who did not in spring 2017:

63.6 percent of participants received an A for the course.
28.6 percent of nonparticipating students earned an A .
63.6 percent of those receiving a research consultation had an average GPA between 3.5 and 4.0 for that semester.
33.3 percent of nonparticipants achieved an average GPA between 3.5 and 4.0.

Results comparing students in the social work course participating in this study with students who did not in fall 2017:

100 percent of participants received an A for the course.
43.6 percent of nonparticipating students earned that grade.
80.0 percent of participating students had an average GPA between 3.5 and 4.0 for that semester.
30.8 percent of nonparticipants managed an average GPA between 3.5 and 4.0.

Results comparing family services students who received research consultations and students who did not:

50 percent of participating students earned an A.
26.7 percent of the nonparticipants received an A..
70 percent of participating students had an average GPA between 3.5 and 4.0 for that semester.
23.3 percent of nonparticipants achieved an average GPA between 3.5 and 4.0.

This underscores that meeting with a librarian is a positive academic behavior.

The authors state and discuss:

That recent studies have looked at connections between library reference services or research consultations and both student retention and GPAs.

This study’s results indicate a positive relationship between lengthy library research consultations and GPA.

Cox, A., Gruber, A. M., & Neuhaus, C. (2019). Complexities of Demonstrating Library Value: An Exploratory Study of Research Consultations. Portal : Libraries and the Academy, 19(4), 577-590. http://dx.doi.org/10.1353/pla.2019.0036

SUPPORTING AND ENGAGING STUDENTS THROUGH ACADEMIC LIBRARY PROGRAMING:

This article Supporting and engaging students through academic library programming discusses the academic and social engagement library program ConnectED: A Penn State York Library First-Year Experience.

Program:

ConnectED. is a series of programs involving both academic content, giving students the opportunity to learn something, and social connections, providing time to meet and interact with others with the ultimate goal of increasing student satisfaction, success, and retention. Events are open to all students, faculty, staff, and, community, it was important to target first-year students.

Results:

The ConnectED program over the past five years in terms of our original goals of engaging students both academically and socially, we succeeded in holding 56 events involving a total of 961 participants. Many events brought new groups of students into the library and evaluations were overwhelming positive. The author hopes that the library becomes THE place on campus to study, use resources, and feel a sense of belonging.

Author's statement:

During a follow up interview after three years an international student was so grateful for ConnectED and felt attached to the school and was now connected with faculty, mentors, staff and fellow students and is making his life better and better. This student serves as an inspiring example of student success, satisfaction, and retention.

Eshbach, B. E. (2020). Supporting and engaging students through academic library programming. The Journal of Academic Librarianship, 46(3), 102129.

THE ACADEMIC LIBRARY'S CONTRIBUTION TO STUDENT SUCCESS: LIBRARY INSTRUCTION AND GPA:

In the article The Academic Library’s Contribution to Student Success: Library Instruction and GPA the relationship between library instruction and the retained graduating students’ four-year cumulative grade point averages for the classes of 2012-2015 at Saint Mary's College is studied.

Results:

There was a significant increase in GPA among graduating students who were enrolled in classes in which at least one library instruction session was held over students who were enrolled in no classes with library instruction.

Students who did not take any classes with library instruction had the lowest average normalized GPAs, 3.62 .
This compares to an average normalized GPA of 3.73 for students who enrolled in one course with library instruction, and 3.70 for all students who took one or more courses with library instruction.

The author's concluding remarks:

The results show a real, statistically valid connection between library instruction and graduating students’ grade point average.

Gaha, Ula, et al. The Academic Library’s Contribution to Student Success: Library Instruction and GPA. College & Research Libraries, vol. 79, no. 6, Sept. 2018, pp. 737–746. doi:10.5860/crl.79.6.737.

CONNECTING LIBRARY USE TO STUDENT SUCCESS:

In the paper Connecting library use to student success an entirely digital library at Nevada State College analyses online library resource use to student success by matching the use of databases and e-books, with students grade point average (GPA), retention, and academic standing.

Results:

Significant differences in semester GPA, one-term retention rates and good academic standing between library users and nonusers.

For library users, M (mean) = 3.16, for nonusers, M = 2.99.
For students who used library resources (84.9 percent retained) and who did not use the library resources (66.0 percent retained).
For students who used the library (89.0 percent on good academic standing) and who did not use the library (79.1 percent on good academic standing).

The results of this study indicated that there were positive and statistically significant relationships between semester GPA, one-term retention, good academic standing, and library use.

LeMaistre, T., Shi, Q., & Thanki, S. (2018). Connecting library use to student success. Portal : Libraries and the Academy, 18(1), 117-140. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.1353/pla.2018.0006

EXPLORING LIBRARY USAGE BY ONLINE LEARNERS WITH STUDENTS SUCCESS:

Exploring Library Usage by Online Learners with Student Success reports on a study that focuses on the relationship between usage of remote library e-resources and success rates among online students at Washtenaw Community College in Ann Arbor, Michigan during the fall 2015 semester.

The study addresses two research questions :

whether online students are accessing library e-resources
whether this access improved their academic performance

Results:

41% of the online students accessed library e-resources remotely and received a grade that was 15 percentage points higher than those who did not access library e-resources remotely.
Online students who accessed library e-resources remotely outperformed students who never accessed library e-resources remotely. Students who accessed between October 1, 2015, and December 16, 2015, scored an average grade of 85.4%. Students who did not access in those same three months had an average grade of 70.4%.

Findings suggest that usage of library e-resources has a positive impact on student success and students who use library e-resources tend to perform better in college.

The author discusses:

In the Literature Review section the author discusses studies with positive correlations between frequency of logins to library resources and retention rates.

McCarthy, S. C. (2017). Exploring Library Usage by Online Learners with Student Success. The Community College Enterprise, 23(2), 27-31.

INFORMATION LITERACY AND INSTRUCTION: REFERENCE CONSULATIONS AND STUDENT SUCCESS OUTCOMES:

In the article Information literacy and instruction: Reference consultations and student success outcomes McIntyre Library at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire studied the relationship between library use and student performance.

Results 2015 and 2016:

Students who utilized library services, including reference consultations, earned higher GPA than nonlibrary users.
Undergraduate students who consulted with a librarian earned average GPAs of 3.26 and 3.20.
Students who used the library but did not ask a reference question earned average GPAs of 3.20 and 3.19.
Students who did not use the library at all had average GPAs of 3.13 and 3.1.

Retention:

Retention and time to graduation are important indicators of student success.
37 percent of the entering class 2012-2013 graduated in four years.
45 percent of students who used the library that year graduated in four years.

Miller, R. E. (2018). Information literacy and instruction: Reference consultations and student success outcomes. Reference & User Services Quarterly, 58(1), 16-21.

ACADEMIC LIBRARIES AND STUDENT RETENTION: THE IMPLICATIONS FOR HIGHER EDUCATION:

The article Academic Libraries and Student Retention: The Implications for Higher Education discusses the role of the classroom professor in driving library use. Grand Valley State University in Allendale, Michigan, has found a correlation between library instruction and student retention, and also between faculty who invite library instruction and student retention.

Results:

Students who had at least one professor work with a librarian, regardless of whether those students saw a librarian in their own classes, were retained at a statistically significant higher rate. These are not students who necessarily had library instruction; these are students who have faculty who invite library instruction.
There a correlation between faculty who engage with their librarian (and presumably encourage their students to do the same via library instruction and research-related assignments) and student retention.

O'Kelly, Mary, "Academic Libraries and Student Retention: The Implications for Higher Education" (2017). Conference Proceedings. 7. http://scholarworks.gvsu.edu/library_proceedings/7

CORRELATION BETWEEN LIBRARY INSTRUCTION AND STUDENT RETENTION: METHODS AND IMPLICATIONS:

The article Correlation Between Library Instruction and Student Retention: Methods and Implications discusses eight years of data from Grand Valley State University Libraries showing a positive correlation between in-class library instruction and student reenrollment the following fall semester every year between 2012 and 2020. The types of courses taught include a wide and diverse variety of disciplines.

Population studied:

students who enrolled in any course section at any level that included library instruction are compared to students who did not during one academic year.

Consistently identified:

a statistically significant difference in year-to-year retention between students who had a librarian visit their class compared to students who did not.

Results of study:

students who participate in courses that had a librarian-led instruction session at some point in the semester have a statistically significant higher chance than their peers of being retained (Table 1).
students reached and instruction sessions held (Table 2).
academic programs that librarians were not reaching, an opportunity for targeted outreach to those programs.
better equipped to strategically integrate information literacy outcomes throughout the instruction program.
students reached at each grade level (Table 3).

O’Kelly, M., Jeffryes, J., Hobscheid, M., & Passarelli, R. (2023). Correlation Between Library Instruction and Student Retention: Methods and Implications. College & Research Libraries, 84(1), 85. doi:https://doi.org/10.5860/crl.84.1.85

RETENTION MATTERS: ACADEMIC LIBRARIANS LEADING THE WAY: NEW REVIEW IF ACADEMIC LIBRARIANSHIP:

In the study Retention Matters: Academic Libraries Leading the Way. New Review of Academic Librarianship the James White Library at Andrews University works side by side with with students and faculty to influence students’ persistence and increase retention and degree attainment:

Results:

The library’s Instruction librarian partnerships with an English professor to enhance students’ information literacy.
The instructor includes library lectures in the second semester general education research writing course.
The librarian is listed as a coteacher.
The librarian attends all regular class sessions and two class activities and discussions.
The librarian attends conferences with students. The librarian brings a fresh perspective to the paper.
The librarian reads and grades final drafts of students’ writing.

Oliveira, S. M. (2018). Retention Matters: Academic Libraries Leading the Way. New Review of Academic Librarianship, 24(1), 35–47. https://doi.org/10.1080/13614533.2017.1365003

THE IMPACT OF LIBRARY INSTRUCTION ON UNDERGRADUATE STUDENT SUCCESS: A FOUR YEAR STUDY:

The article The Impact of Library Instruction on Undergraduate Student Success: A Four-Year Study reports on the study at the University of North Texas.

Research Question:

Is there a relationship between library instruction and student success?”

Measures of Student Success:

GPA
pass or fail in the course
retention (re-enrollment the semester following library instruction).

Results:

Those who received library instruction, 93% passed. Those who did not receive library instruction, fewer than 84% passed. Those who received library instruction were three times more likely to pass than those who did not.
The beginning cumulative GPA for those who received library instruction was 2.83, compared with 2.68 for those who did not receive the instruction. The semester GPA of those who received instruction was 2.82 compared to 2.55 for those who did not receive instruction. The end cumulative GPA for those who received instruction was 2.86, compared with 2.67 for those who did not. Students who are not first time in college and who attended a library instruction session were 16.7 percent more likely to see an increase in their GPA.
For this study, retention is defined as continued enrollment (or graduation) in the following semester. Students who did not receive library instruction, 79.3 percent continued, while of those who did receive library instruction, 83.7 percent continue. Students who attended a library instruction session were 34.3 percent more likely to continue the following semester than those who did not.

The author states:

When considered together library instruction, student success in the form of higher student retention rates and an increase in GPA it is very compelling evidence to suggest a relationship between library instruction and student success.

The original research question, "Is there a relationship between library instruction and student success?” was answered through this study in the affirmative.

Rowe, J., Leuzinger, J., Hargis, C., & Harker, K. (2021). The Impact of Library Instruction on Undergraduate Student Success: A Four-Year Study. Coll. Res. Libr., 82, 7.

BEYOND BOOKS: THE EXTENDED ACADEMIC BENIFITS OF LIBRARY USE FOR FIRST-YEAR COLLEGE STUDENTS:

The purpose of the paper Beyond books: The extended academic benefits of library use for first-year college students was to investigate associations between first-year college students’ use of academic libraries:

In five areas:

books
web-based resources
reference resources
workstations
instruction and

academic engagement
engagement in scholarship
academic skills
semester cumulative GPA

Results:

Students who used the library had significantly higher academic engagement, engagement in scholarship, academic skills and semester cumulative GPA over their peers who did not use these services:
Use of books (collection loans, e-books, and interlibrary loans) and web-based services (database, journal, and library website logins) had the most positive and significant relationships with academic outcomes.
Use of reference services was positively associated with their academic engagement and academic skills,
Enrollment in library courses was positively associated with grade point averages. Grade point averages are often strongly and positively associated with students’ retention and degree completion.

Author states:

This study provides support for the ongoing importance of students’ use of academic libraries and the critical roles that libraries play in students’ academic development, engagement, skills, and achievement.

Soria, K. M., Fransen, J., & Nackerud, S. (2017). Beyond books: The extended academic benefits of library use for first-year college students. College & Research Libraries, 78(1), 8.

THE IMPACT OF ACADEMIC LIBRARY RESOURCES ON UNDERGRADUATE DEGREE COMPLETION:

This study in The Impact of Academic Library Resources on Undergraduates’ Degree Completion examined the impact of first-year undergraduates’ use of academic library resources in their first year on their degree completion or continued enrollment after four years of study.

Results:

Using the library at least one time in the first year of enrollment significantly increased the odds that students would graduate in four years or remain enrolled after four years as opposed to withdrawing.
First-year students who used electronic resources and books also had significantly improved odds of graduation over withdrawing.
Students who used electronic books and took a library instruction course had significantly improved odds of remaining enrolled over withdrawing.

Soria, K., Fransen, J., & Nackerud, S. (2017). The Impact of Academic Library Resources on Undergraduates’ Degree Completion. College & Research Libraries, 78(6). https://doi.org/10.5860/crl.78.6.812

Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL): News Report, Executive Summary, Report

ACADEMIC LIBRARY IMPACT ON STUDENT LEARNING AND SUCCESS:

Below are links to the news report, executive summary and report issued by the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) that focuses on the assessment projects completed by higher education academic libraries, reporting individually for the Assessment in Action: Academic Libraries and Student Success (AIA) program. This program is part of ACRL's Value of Academic Libraries initiative.

These assessment findings show in five (5) areas compelling and in four (4) areas promising ways that libraries contribute to student learning and success and connections between library and student academic success.

The compeling five (5) areas are:

Students who were provided information literacy instruction in their initial coursework performed better in their courses. One project measured the impact of library research instruction on student learning, a pretest and posttest was administered. A key result of the study revealed that students understood and appreciated ways that they could use library resources to research topics and find credible sources. These findings support the value of library instruction.
Students who used the library, online databases, circulation, interlibrary loan, study rooms, and attended library instruction sessions achieved higher levels of academic success such as GPA, course grade and retention. One project assessed transfer students use of library resources and their GPA. The assessment findings indicated that transfer students who participated in course integrated library instruction were much more likely to use library resources and were also more likely to have a higher GPA than students who did not receive the instruction. The assessment findings indicate that library instruction did impact transfer students’ library use.
Library collaboration with academic programs and services with the writing and tutoring centers, communication department and specific classroom instruction contributed to student grades, confidence and retention. One project collaborated with the writing center and analyzed bibliographies of student research papers and conducted interviews with students about their experiences with research and writing. Students reported that they felt supported through the program, and they used more library resources. Analyzing and interviewing the students identified the need for instruction in skills of selecting and using appropriate sources for research writing.
Students inquiry, problem-solving, effective identification and use of information, critical thinking, ethical reasoning, and civic engagement all improved with information literacy instruction. One project demonstrated a connection between ACRL’s Framework for Information Literacy in Higher Education and the goals of a writing program. Assessment focused on two frames from the ACRL Framework: (1) Research as Inquiry, and (2) Searching as Strategic Exploration. Assessment and student reflection documented that enhanced and expanded librarian engagement with students can increase students understanding and incorporation of the threshold concepts reflected in the two frames.
One-on-one or small-group reference and research assistance with a librarian enhances student confidence, GPAs, and course assignments. One project studied first-year students who attended the one year required writing course designed to develop foundational competencies that include critical thinking, writing, and communication. Assessment of students research papers documented that Personal Research Sessions (PRS) and library instruction sessions contributed to students ability to identify and evaluate sources for relevancy. The library plans to expand the program to upper-class students.

ACRL's Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education

The ACRL's Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education is organized into six frames. The six concepts that anchor the frames are

Authority Is Constructed and Contextual
Information Creation as a Process
Information Has Value
Research as Inquiry
Scholarship as Conversation
Searching as Strategic Exploration

The ACRL's Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education expanded Information literacy definition is the set of integrated abilities encompassing the reflective discovery of information, the understanding of how information is produced and valued, and the use of information in creating new knowledge and participating ethically in communities of learning.

The promising four (4) areas are:

The library contributes to improved student retention. One project investigated the connection between online library use and student success as demonstrated by semester GPAs, one-term retention, and good academic standing. The project data documented a positive connection to all three types of academic outcomes.
Library instruction adds value to a student’s long-term academic experience. A growing number of libraries are considering the information literacy competencies of students beyond the freshman year. One project studied library instruction to graduate students and the applicability and transferability of the skills to workplace situations. These skills included the ability to identify, synthesize, and communicate information from relevant sources and to propose solutions to industry and work-based problems. Students reported a positive impact of the instruction on their research skills confidence (87 percent) and indicated that the skills taught were “very” applicable (55 percent) or “quite a bit” applicable (27 percent) to current or future workplace settings. Findings suggest that research libraries are a critical partner and tool for students to advance their workplace information fluency.
The library promotes academic rapport and student engagement. Learning is enhanced and academic success is more likely. One project focused on this academic outcome of transfer students. Early in the first quarter, the library staff e-mailed transfer students to introduce themselves and describe various services. The e-mails also included a short video introduction and information about two welcome events. A survey found that students (57 percent) found the video helpful, and those students who attended the welcome event indicated that the event made them “more likely to use one or more of the library services." Students recommended increasing the social, interactive, and personalized aspects of the library program and to include more information about the library and its staff during transfer orientation activities.
Use of library space relates positively to student learning and success. One project explored outcomes related to engagement events as a way to assess and improve a new library engagement program. They identified engagement activities that explored student learning, creative and critical inquiry practices and knowledge creation that occurred during the engagement events. Instead of using interviews and surveys as assessments they built opportunities within the engagement events to hear student perspectives on their interactions with the library. This type of insight is valuable in developing ideas for future library programming.

"New ACRL report highlights library contributions to student learning and success," American Library Association, May 10, 2017. http://www.ala.org/news/member-news/2017/05/new-acrl-report-highlights-library-contributions-student-learning-and-success (Accessed November 15, 2021) Document ID: 802adced-a381-46f4-fd51-336249d9d85a

Executive Summary: Academic Library Impact on Student Learning and Success Findings from Assessment in action Team Projects

Association of College and Research Libraries. Academic Library Impact on Student Learning and Success: Findings from Assessment in Action Team Projects. Prepared by Karen Brown with contributions by Kara J. Malenfant. Chicago: Association of College and Research Libraries, 2017.

Books

PROFILES OF ACADEMIC LIBRARY EFFORTS TO ENHANCE STUDENT RETENTION:

Part of the concluding statement in this book:

All efforts to demonstrate today’s library as relevant to today’s user is invaluable. Services can be grand or small, expensive or low-cost, and can affect many or few students. However, all services of all types can influence retention positively and help students succeed, which makes services worthwhile.

University of Central Florida, UCF Libraries:

Value of Libraries Assessment

UCF Libraries conducted a study to learn about the library’s effect and effectiveness related to student achievement.

In order to collect the right data, each time a student participated in a library service like instruction, workshops, research consultation, and online modules, the librarians collected and reported each students ID number.

The study lasted two years. This study required support from departments across the institution including library administration, information technology, the university data office, and UCF’s Institutional Review Board (IRB).

The results of this study indicate:

Library users had a higher average GPA at the end of the semester (3.20) compared to library non-users (3.05).
Library users also received more A grades than non-users.
About 40% of UCF students used one more library services, averaging 2.64 uses per student.

The results demonstrate a correlation between using library services and higher academic achievement.

Holderman, S., & Primary Research Group. (2019). Profiles of Academic Library Efforts to Enhance Student Retention . Primary Research Group Inc.

Articles

LIBRARY USAGE, INSTRUCTION, AND STUDENT SUCCESS ACROSS DISCIPLINES: A MULTILEVEL MODEL:

The research in Library usage, instruction, and student success across disciplines: A multilevel model approach used student survey data to explore students’ reported library building use, library resource use, library instruction, and student perceptions of the library’s role in their success, and varying factors by academic discipline. Cumulative GPAs were also matched with respondents.

A survey including undergraduate and graduate students was conducted in 2016.

Survey Sample Size and Response Rates
	Undergraduate Students	Graduate Students
Eligible Sample	2952	3451
Completed Surveys	494	1116
Response Rate	16.7%	32.3%

Three outcome variables were modeled:

Students’ library resource usage from responses to survey questions about frequency of use of various library resources and services.
Students’ perception of library contribution to academic success.
Students’ cumulative GPA.

The library resource usage included: library website, library search, article indexes and databases, electronic journals and articles, e-books, physical items (books, DVDs, CDs, maps, microforms), and materials from Special Collections and University Archives.

Figures 2a and 2b:

Levels of library resource usage and percentages of those believing the library contributes very much to the respondents’ academic success varied quite a bit by discipline. Both were quite a bit higher for graduate students than for undergraduates. Both tended to be high in the same groups, with Humanities the highest in usage and nearly the highest in success.

Figure 3

This study defined library instruction as course-related instruction, a librarian coming to one of their classes. Reporting library instruction in a class predicted higher library resource use:

International students use the library more than US residents, with or without course related instruction. Receiving course related instruction predicts higher usage for both international students and US residents, but more so for international students.
For graduate students, library resource usage was predicted to be 15 percent higher for US residents reporting course-related instruction than for those without course related instruction, and 49 percent higher for international students.
The difference in library resource use for undergraduates reporting course related instruction was larger than for graduate students, with estimates of 64 percent for US residents and 56 percent for international students.

Figure 4

The average difference in library resource usage between those who believe the library contributes very much to success and those who do not varies quite a bit by discipline, but it is always positive:

Veterinary Medicine students with library contributes to success average 200 percent higher library resource usage than those without.
Physical Sciences & Engineering, Math & Computer Science, and Humanities graduate students with library contributes to success have about 75 percent higher library resources usage than those without.
Undergraduates, Physical Sciences & Engineering is one of the disciplines with the largest differences (150% higher library resource usage with library contributes to success).
Business & Economics among the lowest (around 40% higher library resource usage).

Figure 5

Higher frequency of building usage predicts higher probability of library contributes to success for undergraduates (by 11%), but not for graduate students, comparing 4 times per month to 1 time per month:

Undergraduates, higher building usage predicts more of a difference in library contributes to success than does library resources usage.
Graduate students, building usage predicted only a slight difference in library contributes to success.

Figure 6

For most undergraduate disciplines, both higher library usage and higher building usage predicted a greater probability of library contributes to success, a little more than 10 percent for building usage and a little less than 10 percent for library resource usage. Humanities had a larger difference, about 12 percent for library resource usage and 17 percent for building usage, comparing 4 times per month to 1 time per month.
Building usage seemed to be slightly more important for international undergraduates than for US residents.
Graduate students, the predicted difference in probability for library contributes to success with higher library resources usage ranged from about 20 to 25 percent for Interdisciplinary, Humanities, and Arts & Design down to 10 percent for Business & Economics and Math & Computer Science graduate students.
The predicted difference was a bit higher for international students than US residents, by about 2 to 3 percent in most disciplines.

Figure 7

Cumulative GPA was higher on average for students who used library resources more frequently, but not for undergraduate students who received library instruction. An undergraduate with a library resource usage index of 4 times per month averaged a higher GPA by 0.1 than an undergraduate with an library resource usage of 1, if they had not received course-related instruction.

Figure 8

The predicted difference in GPA between those with an library resource usage of 4 and those with an library resource usage of 1, averaged over the conditions of receiving course related instruction or not, varied by discipline:

Veterinary Medicine students had a wider range of GPA than other graduate students. Other graduate student disciplines ranged from .03 higher GPA (Business & Economics and Interdisciplinary) to 0.05 higher GPA.
There was more variation for undergraduates, ranging from 0 for Math & Computer Sciences to 0.09 for Physical Sciences & Engineering.

Figure 9

The points in figure 9 indicate the combination of the cumulative GPA (y-axis) and the library resource usage index (x-axis) for each individual respondent. The lines show how the GPA on average increased as the library resource usage doubled, with the slope of the line varying by discipline.

The angle of the line upward to the left at 0 for the zero-use indicator varied by discipline, showing that there were students who reported no library resource usage yet still achieved high grades, more so in undergraduate disciplines, but also in the graduate disciplines of Business & Economics, Math & Computer Science, and Physical Sciences & Engineering.

The Arts & Design and Humanities disciplines were the only graduate disciplines, along with Humanities undergraduates, in which all respondents reported at least some library resource usage.

The slope of the line (upward to the right as library resource usage increases, in most disciplines) tended to be steeper for most undergraduate disciplines and Vet Med students than for other graduate disciplines. Undergraduates in Math & Computer Science and Business & Economics were the only groups that showed no increase in GPA at higher levels of library resource usage.

When students do use library resources, the cumulative GPA is higher on average as library resource use doubles, although this is not so for building usage. For undergraduates, this correlation between library resource use and GPA is true only if they did not report receiving course related instruction.

In the discussion section of this study the author states and asks the question:

Anderson, L. L., & García, S. A. V. (2020). Library usage, instruction, and student success across disciplines: A multilevel model approach. College & Research Libraries, 81(3), 459.

COMPLEXITIES OF DEMONSTRATING LIBRARY VALUE: AN EXPLORATORY STUDY OF RESEACH CONSULTATIONS:

The article Complexities of Demonstrating Library Value: An Exploratory Study of Research Consultations focuses on the impact of lengthy research consultations and student academic success to demonstrate library value at the University of Northern Iowa (UNI) Rod Library. Research consultations are an important way many students receive library services, and the personalized focus appeals to many learners. Students often express that research consultations help them succeed, and recommended the service to their friends.

This study addressed two questions concerning correlations between lengthy research consultations with librarians and student success, measured by either semester GPA or course grade:

• Will students who participate in library consultations have higher overall semester GPAs than students who do not?

• For specific courses, will students who meet with a librarian have a higher course grade than other students from the same class who do not?

Data collection took place during both the spring and fall semesters of 2017. The two courses were one in social work and the other in family services. A total of 126 students participated, 67 from spring and 59 from fall.

The average semester GPA for all 126 participants was calculated and compared to the average GPA for the entire UNI student body during the same semester.

The spring 2017 GPA for participants receiving library consultations was 3.33, while that for the entire student body was 2.83.
The fall 2017 GPA for participants was 3.39, compared to the student body GPA of 2.74.

Participants enrolled in either the same social work course (both spring and fall 2017; 21.3 percent of all participants) or family services course (fall 2017 only; 16.7 percent of participants).

An additional analysis was conducted to compare the 22 students enrolled in the social work course who participated in this study with the 21 enrolled students who did not receive a research consultation in spring 2017.

Results of this comparison showed that 63.6 percent of participants received a letter grade of A for the course, while only 28.6 percent of nonparticipating students earned an A (see Table 4). A comparison of spring GPAs for the two groups of social work students showed 63.6 percent of those receiving a research consultation had an average GPA between 3.5 and 4.0 for that semester, while only 33.3 percent of nonparticipants achieved an average GPA between 3.5 and 4.0.

Comparisons between the 5 students in the social work course participating in this study and the 39 social work students who did not receive a research consultation in fall 2017. They also pulled comparisons of the 10 family services students who received research consultations and the 30 other students who did not.

Results of these comparisons showed that 100 percent of the participating social work students received a letter grade of A for the course, while only 43.6 percent of nonparticipating students earned that grade (see Table 4). A comparison of the fall GPAs for participants and nonparticipants enrolled in the social work course revealed that 80.0 percent of participating students (those receiving a research consultation and consenting) had an average GPA between 3.5 and 4.0 for that semester, while only 30.8 percent of nonparticipants managed an average GPA between 3.5 and 4.0.
Among students in the family services course, 50 percent of participating students earned an A, while only 26.7 percent of the nonparticipants received an A. (see Table 4). Seventy percent of participating students had an average GPA between 3.5 and 4.0 for that semester, while only 23.3 percent of nonparticipants achieved an average GPA between 3.5 and 4.0.

One key finding of this study is course-level data. The study compared participants and nonparticipants taking the same course with the same instructor requiring the same assignments. Students who took part in research consultations from the two courses earned an A. This underscores that meeting with a librarian is a positive academic behavior.

The authors state and discuss:

That recent studies have looked at connections between library reference services or research consultations and both student retention and GPAs.

This study’s results indicate a positive relationship between lengthy library research consultations and GPA.

SUPPORTING AND ENGAGING STUDENTS THROUGH ACADEMIC LIBRARY PROGRAMING:

The article Supporting and engaging students through academic library programming explores how academic libraries can help foster conditions for both academic and social engagement on the college campus, with the ultimate goal of increasing student satisfaction, success, and retention.

By providing opportunities for students to make connections with others on campus and participate in activities that foster effective learning practices, spark curiosity, and engage them both academically and socially, the academic library can have a positive impact on student learning and personal development.

Discussed in this article is the academic library program ConnectED: A Penn State York Library First-Year Experience at Penn State York a suburban commuter campus of Penn State University,. This experience consists of a series of programs involving both academic content, giving students the opportunity to learn something, and social connections, providing time to meet and interact with others. While the events are open to all students, faculty, staff, and, in some cases, the community, it is important to make a special effort to target first-year students.

Our goal for engaging students academically is to provide out of classroom experiences that focus on a combination of library resources, research skills, and study strategies to help students develop academic strengths and self-confidence. Our goal for social engagement is to get students into the library, to meet and make connections with librarians, staff, and other students, in the hopes that the library becomes THE place on campus for them to come, to study, use our resources, and feel a sense of belonging on our campus.

Reflecting on the ConnectED program over the past five years in terms of our original goals of engaging students both academically and socially, we succeeded in holding 56 events involving a total of 961 participants. Many events brought new groups of students into the library and evaluations were overwhelming positive.

Eshbach, B. E. (2020). Supporting and engaging students through academic library programming. The Journal of Academic Librarianship, 46(3), 102129.

THE ACADEMIC LIBRARY'S CONTRIBUTION TO STUDENT SUCCESS: LIBRARY INSTRUCTION AND GPA:

In the article The Academic Library’s Contribution to Student Success: Library Instruction and GPA the relationship between library instruction and retained graduating students’ four-year cumulative grade point averages for the classes of 2012-2015 is studied at Saint Mary's College. After normalizing the GPAs by departments to account for differences in departmental grading there was indication that a statistically significant increase in GPA among graduating students who were enrolled in classes in which at least one library instruction session was held over students who were enrolled in no classes with library instruction.

Data was collected on students’ transcripts and cumulative GPAs, beginning with a list of all courses that had at least one library instruction session from Fall 2008 through Spring 2015. This list included every course with library instruction taken by students graduating with the classes of 2012 through 2015. That list of courses was than run against the transcripts of students graduating with the classes of 2012 through 2015.

The list of graduating students included 1380 individuals. What resulted was a list of anonymized identification numbers for individual students; those students’ majors; the number of courses those students were enrolled in that had a library instruction session; and students’ four-year cumulative GPAs.

Table 1 shows:

A large majority of graduates took one to three courses with library instruction, and only 115 students, or 8.3%—had no library instruction.
After four courses with library instruction, the sample sizes drop dramatically; the groups with seven and eight courses with library instruction include only three and seven students with high GPAs.

Table 2 shows:

Students who did not take any classes with library instruction had the lowest average normalized GPAs, 3.62 .
This compares to an average normalized GPA of 3.73 for students who enrolled in one course with library instruction, and 3.70 for all students who took one or more courses with library instruction.

Figure 1 shows:

A smooth curve through normalized average GPAs for students with zero to four courses with library instruction illustrates the increase in GPA for students in these most highly populated groups.

The author's concluding remarks::

The results show a real, statistically valid connection between library instruction and graduating students’ grade point average.

CONNECTING LIBRARY USE TO STUDENT SUCCESS:

In the paper Connecting library use to student success an entirely digital library at Nevada State College analyses online library resource use to student success by matching the use of online library resources, such as databases and e-books, with student outcomes, such as grade point average (GPA), retention, and academic standing.

Participants were 3,530 students enrolled in fall 2015.

1,936 (54.8 percent) students used the library’s online resources. The mean number of library use sessions among these 1,936 students was 7.93 sessions. The highest usage was 127 sessions.
1,594 (45.2 percent) students showed no usage of the library’s online resources.

There was a significant difference in terms of semester GPA between library users and nonusers.

For library users, M (mean) = 3.16, for nonusers, M = 2.99.

There were significant proportional differences between library users and nonusers regarding their one-term retention rates.

For students who used library resources (84.9 percent retained) and who did not use the library resources (66.0 percent retained).

There was a significant proportional difference in good academic standing between students.

For students who used the library (89.0 percent on good academic standing) and who did not use the library (79.1 percent on good academic standing).

The results of this study indicated that there were positive and statistically significant relationships between semester GPA, one-term retention, good academic standing, and library use measured by number of sessions for the library users.

LeMaistre, T., Shi, Q., & Thanki, S. (2018). Connecting library use to student success. Portal : Libraries and the Academy, 18(1), 117-140. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.1353/pla.2018.0006

EXPLORING LIBRARY USAGE BY ONLINE LEARNERS WITH STUDENTS SUCCESS:

The study addresses two research questions :

whether online students are accessing library e-resources
whether this access improved their academic performance

Participants in this study were 4,803 online students.

The results show 1,959 students, 41% of the online students accessed library e-resources remotely and received a grade that was almost 15 percentage points higher than their counterparts who did not access library e-resources remotely. The remaining 2, 844 students, 59% of the online students never accessed library e-resources remotely.

Also, results show that those online students who accessed library e-resources remotely outperformed students who never accessed library e-resources remotely. Students who accessed between October 1, 2015, and December 16, 2015, scored an average grade of 85.4%. Students who did not access in those same three months had an average grade of 70.4%.

Findings in this study suggests that usage of library e-resources has a positive impact on student success and students who use library e-resources tend to perform better in college.

The author discusses:

In the Literature Review section the author discusses studies with positive correlations between frequency of logins to library resources and retention rates.

McCarthy, S. C. (2017). Exploring Library Usage by Online Learners with Student Success. The Community College Enterprise, 23(2), 27-31.

INFORMATION LITERACY AND INSTRUCTION: REFERENCE CONSULATIONS AND STUDENT SUCCESS OUTCOMES:

In the article Information literacy and instruction: Reference consultations and student success outcomes McIntyre Library at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire (UW-Eau Claire) studied the relationship between library use and student performance. Patron information such as material circulated, logging in to the proxy server, requesting an interlibrary loan, reserving a study room, entering the library’s annual orientation event, attending course-integrated information literacy session and consulting with a librarian about research, typically in person, but also via email, chat/IM, or on the phone was analyzed.

Students who utilized library services, including reference consultations, earned higher grade point averages than nonlibrary users. Undergraduate students who consulted with a librarian earned average GPAs of 3.26 and 3.20 in 2016 and 2015, respectively. Students who used the library but did not ask a reference question earned average GPAs of 3.20 and 3.19 in 2016 and 2015, respectively. In contrast, students who did not use the library at all in 2016 and 2015 had average GPAs of 3.13 and 3.15, respectively.

Retention and time to graduation were also important indicators of student success. Pilot research examined the entering class of 2012–2013. While 37 percent of that entering class graduated in four years, 45 percent of students who used the library for any reason that year graduated in four years.

Miller, R. E. (2018). Information literacy and instruction: Reference consultations and student success outcomes. Reference & User Services Quarterly, 58(1), 16-21.

ACADEMIC LIBRARIES AND STUDENT RETENTION: THE IMPLICATIONS FOR HIGHER EDUCATION:

The article Academic Libraries and Student Retention: The Implications for Higher Education discusses the role of the classroom professor in driving library use. Grand Valley State University (GVSU) in Allendale, Michigan, has found a statistically significant correlation between library instruction and student retention, and also between faculty who invite library instruction and student retention.

Table 1 shows how many students had a faculty member who worked with a librarian to offer library instruction in class and the percent of those students who reenrolled the following semester (our definition of retention). Students who had at least one professor work with a librarian, regardless of whether those students saw a librarian in their own classes, were retained at a statistically significant higher rate. These are not students who necessarily had library instruction; these are students who have faculty who invite library instruction.

Year	Faculty who invited library instruction	Number of students	% retained
2014-2015	No	7555	71.30
2014-2015	Yes	10825	74.70
2015-2016	No	6583	70.69
2015-2016	Yes	12030	74.39

At GVSU there appears to be a correlation between faculty who engage with their librarian (and presumably encourage their students to do the same via library instruction and research-related assignments) and student retention.

O'Kelly, Mary, "Academic Libraries and Student Retention: The Implications for Higher Education" (2017). Conference Proceedings. 7. http://scholarworks.gvsu.edu/library_proceedings/7

CORRELATION BETWEEN LIBRARY INSTRUCTION AND STUDENT RETENTION: METHODS AND IMPLICATIONS:

Eight years of data from Grand Valley State University Libraries show a positive correlation between in-class library instruction and student reenrollment the following fall semester.

Grand Valley State University (GVSU) Libraries found a statistically significant positive correlation between course-integrated, in-person, librarian-led instruction and student retention every year between 2012 and 2020.

For eight consecutive years GVSU has consistently identified a statistically significant difference in year-to-year retention between students who had a librarian visit their class compared to students who did not.

The population studied is drawn from the total enrolled student population at GVSU, and students who enrolled in any course section at any level that included library instruction are compared to students who did not during one academic year.

The types of courses taught include a wide and diverse variety of disciplines.

The results of this study suggest that students who participate in courses that had a librarian-led instruction session at some point in the semester have a statistically significant higher chance than their peers of being retained. This study defines student retention as reenrollment for the subsequent fall semester (Table 1).

The reports show the number of students reached and the number of instruction sessions held, making it possible to track larger trends of engagement with library instruction across the university over time (Table 2).

The reports identified academic programs that librarians were not reaching. This information triggered an opportunity for targeted outreach to those programs.

Results in the data identified the number of students reached at each grade level (Table 3).

RETENTION MATTERS: ACADEMIC LIBRARIANS LEADING THE WAY: NEW REVIEW IF ACADEMIC LIBRARIANSHIP:

The library’s Instruction librarian partnerships with an English professor to enhance students’ information literacy.

The instructor includes library lectures in the second semester general education research writing course. Early in the semester, the librarian brings the students over for a week of lectures and exercises to introduce them to library resources and give them practice in using various databases and reference tools.

The librarian is now listed as a coteacher, encouraging students to see the librarian as central to the course objectives. Increasing the librarian’s visibility, and encouraging students to feel more comfortable seeking the librarian’s assistance on their projects, opportunities for students to conference with the librarian as well as with me were included.

Other changes:. The librarian attends all regular class sessions and participates in two class activities and discussions. The librarian attends conferences I have with students. The librarian brings a fresh perspective to the paper. The librarian reads and grads final drafts of students’ writing.

Oliveira, S. M. (2018). Retention Matters: Academic Libraries Leading the Way. New Review of Academic Librarianship, 24(1), 35–47. https://doi.org/10.1080/13614533.2017.1365003

THE IMPACT OF LIBRARY INSTRUCTION ON UNDERGRADUATE STUDENT SUCCESS: A FOUR YEAR STUDY:

The article The Impact of Library Instruction on Undergraduate Student Success: A Four-Year Study reports on the study by librarians at the University of North Texas. The research was guided by the question, “Is there a relationship between library instruction and student success?” The variables used to measure student success were GPA, pass or fail in the course, and retention (re-enrollment the semester following library instruction).

Study participants were undergraduate students who attended a library instruction session with their composition course. Participation in a library instruction session is entirely voluntary for the instructors. More than 3,000 students attended composition library instruction sessions. Librarians collected card-swipe data for students attending library instruction. The authors were also able to obtain data for the more than 6,000 students who were enrolled in the composition course but who did not attend library instruction. In total, more than 10,000 students were in the final data set.

Before the authors received the data, the student data was anonymized by assigning fake ID numbers to each student, and then added the following information for each of the 10,000 students:

grades in the composition class
semester GPA (for the semester they participated in the library instruction session) and final GPA
graduation status (if applicable)
re-enrolled status the semester following their library instruction session (retention)

The authors also received demographic data, such as first-generation college status, student major, gender and ethnicity, and transfer or new student status.

The key measures tested were pass/not passed the composition course, change in GPA, increased or not-increased GPA, and continuation or graduation at University of North Texas.

Those who received library instruction, 93% passed. Those who did not receive library instruction, fewer than 84% passed. Thus, those who received library instruction were nearly three times more likely to pass than those who did not.
The beginning cumulative GPA for those who received library instruction was 2.83, compared with 2.68 for those who did not receive the instruction. The semester GPA of those who received instruction was 2.82 compared to 2.55 for those who did not receive instruction. The end cumulative GPA for those who received instruction was 2.86, compared with 2.67 for those who did not. Thus, undergraduate students who are not first time in college and who attended a library instruction session were 16.7 percent more likely to see an increase in their GPA.
For this study, the authors defined retention as continued enrollment (or graduation) in the following semester. Students who did not receive library instruction, 79.3 percent continued, while of those who did receive library instruction, 83.7 percent continue. Thus, undergraduate students who attended a library instruction session were 34.3 percent more likely to continue the following semester than those who did not.

While participating in library instruction is not solely responsible for student success in the form of higher student retention rates or increase in GPA, when considered together, it is very compelling evidence to suggest a relationship between library instruction and student success. This increase, coupled with the more likely pass rate for students who participated in library instruction, provides evidence that attending library instruction correlates to student success.

The original research question, "Is there a relationship between library instruction and student success?” was answered through this study in the affirmative.

Rowe, J., Leuzinger, J., Hargis, C., & Harker, K. (2021). The Impact of Library Instruction on Undergraduate Student Success: A Four-Year Study. Coll. Res. Libr., 82, 7.

BEYOND BOOKS: THE EXTENDED ACADEMIC BENIFITS OF LIBRARY USE FOR FIRST-YEAR COLLEGE STUDENTS:

in five areas:

books
web-based resources
reference resources
workstations
instruction and

academic engagement
engagement in scholarship
academic skills
semester cumulative GPA

The survey was completed by 1,068 students,19.90 percent of 5,368 first year students at the University of Minnesota fall 2012 semester.

The results show:

Use of books (collection loans, e-books, and interlibrary loans) and web-based services (database, journal, and library website logins) had the most positive and significant relationships with academic outcomes.
Use of reference services was positively associated with their academic engagement and academic skills,
Enrollment in library courses was positively associated with grade point averages. Grade point averages are often strongly and positively associated with students’ retention and degree completion.

Academic Engagement:

Three areas of academic library use were positively and significantly associated with students’ academic engagement and had significantly higher academic engagement over their peers who did not use these services:

Use of books (interlibrary loans, e-books, or traditional book loans)
Use of web-based services (academic journals, databases, or the libraries’ website)
Use of reference services (reference librarian or peer reference consultant)

Engagement in Scholarship:

Two areas of academic library use were positively and significantly associated with students’ engagement in scholarship and had significantly higher engagement in scholarship over their peers who did not use these services:

Use of books (interlibrary loans, e-books, or traditional book loans)
Use of web-based services (academic journals, databases, or the libraries’ website)

Academic Skills:

Three areas of academic library use were positively and significantly associated with students’ academic skills had significantly higher academic skills over their peers who did not use these services:

Use of books (interlibrary loans, e-books, or traditional book loans)
Use of web-based services (academic journals, databases, or the libraries’ website)
Use of reference services

GPA:

Two areas of academic library use were positively and significantly associated with students’ GPA had significantly higher GPA over their peers who did not use these services:

Use of web-based services (academic journals, databases, or the libraries’ website)
Engagement in libraries instruction (workshops, classes, or course-integrated instruction)

The study found no significant effects for students’ use of library workstations on their academic outcomes.

Soria, K. M., Fransen, J., & Nackerud, S. (2017). Beyond books: The extended academic benefits of library use for first-year college students. College & Research Libraries, 78(1), 8.

THE IMPACT OF ACADEMIC LIBRARY RESOURCES ON UNDERGRADUATE DEGREE COMPLETION:

The purpose of the study in The Impact of Academic Library Resources on Undergraduates’ Degree Completion was to examine the impact of first-year undergraduates’ use of academic library resources in their first year on their degree completion or continued enrollment after four years of study.

The results suggest that using the library at least one time in the first year of enrollment significantly increased the odds that students would graduate in four years or remain enrolled after four years as opposed to withdrawing from the university. First-year students who used electronic resources and books also had significantly improved odds of graduation over withdrawing, while students who used electronic books and took a library instruction course had significantly improved odds of remaining enrolled over withdrawing.

The sample used in this study is drawn from the 2011 entering class of first-year undergraduates at a large, public university located in the Midwest (N = 5,368).

Environmental measures: Students’ use of academic libraries:

The environmental or “treatment” variables included students’ use of academic libraries at least once during the academic year, in addition to at least one use in five primary areas:

loaning books (including interlibrary loans and electronic books)
using electronic resources (including academic journals accessed, website used, and databases searched)
logging into library computer workstations
enrolling in library instruction courses (introduction courses, workshops, or instruction integrated into courses)
reference resources used (such as meeting with a peer research consultant or chatting with a reference librarian).

We collected all of these data points from existing records on students’ use of a variety of library services. We coded students’ use of libraries in these areas to reflect whether they had ever once used the library in this area (0 = never used, 1 = used at least one time).

The results suggest that 82.2 percent of students used the libraries at least once, students were most likely to have used electronic resources (78.3%), and students were least likely to have met with a peer research consultant or chatted online with a reference librarian (5.5%).

First-year students who used the library at least once during their first year of enrollment had significantly greater odds of graduation or continued enrollment (over withdrawal). The results suggest that first-year students who used any library resource at least once had significantly greater odds of continued enrollment and graduation in four years over their peers who did not use any library resources (see table 2). The results ultimately suggest that students who used any library resource at least one time were 1.389 times more likely to be enrolled in four years or 1.441 times more likely to have graduated in four years than peers who did not use any library resources.

First-year students who used electronic resources at least once were significantly more likely than their peers to both graduate in four years (over withdrawing) and were also more likely to have continued enrollment over withdrawing (see table 2). The odds of continually enrolling were nearly one-and-a-half times greater for first-year students who used electronic resources. The odds of graduating in four years were nearly doubled for students who used electronic resources.

Students who used books at least once in their first year of enrollment had significantly improved odds of graduating in four years, although no effect was observed for continued enrollment.

Using workstations had no effect on the odds of continued enrollment or graduation in four years over withdrawal from the university.

Students who registered for at least one library instruction class or who had library instruction embedded in classes had significantly improved odds of continued enrollment in four years over withdrawal.

Meeting with a peer reference consultant or chatting with a reference librarian had no effect on the odds of continued enrollment or graduation in four years. Given that these interactions with libraries staff or peer research consultants may have been relatively brief, it may be unsurprising to see such results.

Additional Articles

Broadhurst, D. (2017). The direct library supply of individual textbooks to students: examining the value proposition. Information and Learning Science, 118(11), 629-641. http://dx.doi.org/10.1108/ILS-07-2017-0072

Croxton, Rebecca A. and Moore, Anne Cooper. “From Matriculation to Graduation: Alignment of Library Data with University Metrics to Quantify Library Value.” http://www.ala.org/acrl/sites/ala.org.acrl/files/content/conferences/confsandpreconfs/2019/FromMatriculationtoGraduation.pdf

Godfrey, I., Rutledge, L., Mowdood, A., Reed, J., Bigler, S., & Soehner, C. (2017). Supporting student retention and success: Including family areas in an academic library. Portal : Libraries and the Academy, 17(2), 375-388. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.1353/pla.2017.0023

Jackson, B. (2017). The Representation of Library Value in Extra-Institutional Evaluations of University Quality. The Canadian Journal of Higher Education, 47(1), 80-96.

Lundy, R., & Curran, R. (2020). Desperately seeking funding: Library guides to student funding. Reference Services Review, 48(3), 415-431. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.1108/RSR-03-2020-0021

Adam L. Murray & Ashley P. Ireland (2017) Communicating Library Impact on Retention: A Framework for Developing Reciprocal Value Propositions, Journal of Library Administration, 57:3, 311-326, DOI: 10.1080/01930826.2016.1243425

Ramsey, Elizabeth and Aagard, Mary C.. (2018). "Academic Libraries as Active Contributors to Student Wellness". College & Undergraduate Libraries, 25(4), 328-334.

Robertshaw, M. B., & Asher, A. (2019). Unethical Numbers? A Meta-analysis of Library Learning Analytics Studies. Library Trends, 68(1), 76-101. http://dx.doi.org/10.1353/lib.2019.0031

Rodrigues, M. C. e., & Mandrekar, B. (2020). Impact of academic library services on students success and performance. Library Philosophy and Practice, , 1-19.

Salisbury, F., & Peasley, J. (2018). Measuring the academic library. Information and Learning Science, 119(1), 109-120. http://dx.doi.org/10.1108/ILS-07-2017-0068

Sterner, E. A. (2020). Impact of academic libraries on grade point average (GPA): A review. Performance Measurement and Metrics, 22(1), 71-85. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.1108/PMM-01-2020-0004

Whitley, B., & Burger, A. (2019). Designing engagement for academic libraries. Georgia library quarterly, 56(1), 10.

Yamaguchi, M. (2018). Demonstrating academic library impact to faculty: A case study. Digital Library Perspectives, 34(2), 137-150. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.1108/DLP-09-2017-0034

Young, Jeffrey R. "Libraries look to big data to measure their worth -- and better help students." https://www.edsurge.com/news/2017-11-17-libraries-look-to-big-data-to-measure-their-worth-and-better-help-students