Library Guides: Researching in Physical Therapy: Evidence Based Practice Research

In CINAHL choose Evidence-Based Practice to limit your search.

In Medline choose EBM Reviews to limit your search.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases containing high quality, in-depth evidence to assist in healthcare decision making. Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, which provides peer-reviewed systematic reviews and protocols.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL®Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL®Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.
Medline Complete This link opens in a new window
"MEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more."

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Evidence-based Practice Center (EPC) reports offer comprehensive, science-based information on common or costly medical conditions and new healthcare technologies and strategies. Your search results cover complete titles of all evidence reports released by the EPCs, including reports for the Effective Health Care Program, the Technology Assessment Program, and the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force. An official website of the US DHHS.
PEDro: Physiotherapy Evidence Database
A free database of over 58,000 trials, reviews and guidelines.

PUBMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

REHAB+
A database of evidence-based reviews from McMaster University. Requires users to register before searching.
TRIP Database - Turning Reseach Into Practice
The TRIP Database is a clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice.

What is Evidence Based Practice?

This video from Steely Library at Northern Kentucky University defines and provides examples of evidence-based practice. (CC-BY-NC 4.0)

Evidence Based Practice - What it is and what it isn't
This is one of the most cited articles on evidence based practice. It clearly outlines the components of EBP, and why it is a beneficial tool in clinical settings.

D. L. Sackett, W. M. Rosenberg, J. A. Gray, R. B. Haynes, and W. S. Richardson. (1996). Evidence based medicine: What it is and isn't. British Medical Journal, 312, 71-72.
Evidence Based Practice Series (Duke/UNC)
A series of modules that will help you follow the 5 A's (assess, ask, acquire, appraise, apply) of using EBP.
Evidence Based Practice Glossary
From the Centre for Evidence Based Medicine
Tools for each step of the EBM Process
from the Centre for Evidence Based Medicine