Library Guides: Nursing Subject Guide: Citation information, dictionaries, and other online resources

Style Guides

Listed below are style guides for commonly used style formats

AMA Manual of Style
From the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
APA Style Guidelines
From the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
MLA Formatting and Style
From the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Chicago Manual of Style
From the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
ASA Style Guide
From the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)

Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary
Search the premier dictionary of the English language online. You may find the Help files useful when using the dictionary in a more in-depth manner.
Dictionary.com
This freely available dictionary website is a good resource for quick reference.

FPU Resources

Gale Virtual Reference Library: Health Science This link opens in a new window
Explore background information in the health sciences with Gale Virtual Reference!

Online Medical Reference Materials

These links are meant to provide you with medical reference materials that can help you in your research.

Magill's Medical Guide by Salem Press Editors
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781682176313
Publication Date: 2018-01-01
Covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, biology, and issues in an easy-to-use A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders. In addition to completely new essays in this edition, all entries from the previous edition have been evaluated and updated by a panel of Medical Editors to ensure their currency and accuracy.

National Library of Medicine
Search resources available through the National Library of Medicine
Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body
Gray's Anatomy is the gold standard of human anatomy. Find information here on every anatomical aspect of the human body.
Hardin MD
Large index of websites from the University of Iowa. Includes links to many medical images.
The Hosford Muscle Tables
"A study tool in text / table format which lays out all the skeletal muscles of the human body. Included is each muscle's origin, insertion, action, blood supply, and innervation."
Images from the history of medicine
A collection of images from the National Institute of Health (NIH) on the subject of medicine throughout history.
Research and Statistics in NIDILRR
Information on research and statistics from the National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research. Including: disability statistics, Spinal Cord Injury Database, TBI injuries, and burns.
Whole Brain Atlas
An atlas of the human brain as presented by Harvard
Medscape
Medscape is a web resource for physicians and health professionals featuring peer-reviewed original medical journal articles, CME (Continuing Medical Education), a customized version of the National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE database, daily medical news, major conference coverage, and drug information—including a drug database (Medscape Drug Reference, or MDR) and drug interaction checker. All content in Medscape is available free of charge for professionals and consumers alike, but registration is required.