Library Guides: Health Sciences Subject Guide: Background Information

Online Medical Reference Materials

Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body
The Hosford Muscle Tables
Images from the history of medicine
Mayo Clinic - Health Information
Health information from the Mayo Clinic. Searchable by symptoms, test, and drugs.
Medline Plus
MedlinePlus is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Our mission is to present high-quality, relevant health and wellness information that is trusted, easy to understand, and free of advertising, in both English and Spanish. Anywhere, anytime, on any device—for free.
Medline Plus Medical Encyclopedia
The A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
Medscape
Medscape is a web resource for physicians and health professionals featuring peer-reviewed original medical journal articles, CME (Continuing Medical Education), a customized version of the National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE database, daily medical news, major conference coverage, and drug information—including a drug database (Medscape Drug Reference, or MDR) and drug interaction checker. All content in Medscape is available free of charge for professionals and consumers alike, but registration is required.
National Library of Medicine
Search resources available through the National Library of Medicine
Whole Brain Atlas

Reference Books

Books with call numbers beginning in REF are non-circulating and can be found in the lower level of the library. All other print books can be checked out and are located in the main library collection. Please contact a librarian for help finding books or using eBooks. Gale Virtual Reference Library and Credo Reference are digital reference databases that are keyword searchable.

Gale Virtual Reference Library: Health Science This link opens in a new window
Explore background information in the health sciences with Gale Virtual Reference!

Magill's Medical Guide by Salem Press Editors
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781682176313
Publication Date: 2018-01-01
Covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, biology, and issues in an easy-to-use A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders. In addition to completely new essays in this edition, all entries from the previous edition have been evaluated and updated by a panel of Medical Editors to ensure their currency and accuracy.
Family Health Encyclopedia by Peter Fermie; Stephen Shepherd
Call Number: RC 81 .A2 F346 2011
ISBN: 9781844772728
Publication Date: 2014-06-07
Written in association with The Royal College of General Practitioners, this encyclopedia will aid in the diagnosis of all common ailments from the common cold to chronic fatigue syndrome. Chapters provide explanations of particular anatomical systems and the illnesses that can affect them.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health by Laurie J. Fundukian (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781414498799
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Alphabetically arranged encyclopedia contains approximately 257 entries pertaining to important public health concerns. Topics include diseases and conditions, health and wellness efforts, nutrition, ethics and law related topics and statistics, sanitation issues, and everyday environmental effects.
The Affordable Care Act by Greenhaven Press Editors (Editor); Tamara Thompson
Call Number: KF3605.A328201 A2 2015
ISBN: 9780737771497
Publication Date: 2014-12-02
Explores the pros and cons of the Affordable Care Act, who benefits from the ACA, how the economy is affected by the ACA, and the impact of the ACA rollout. This product is part of: At Issue Series. The At Issue series includes a wide range of opinion on a single controversial subject. Each volume includes primary and secondary sources from a variety of perspectives -- eyewitnesses, scientific journals, government officials and many others. Extensive bibliographies and annotated lists of relevant organizations to contact offer a gateway to future research.
Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine by Lyle J. Micheli
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781452265810
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
From A-to-Z, this work covers the spectrum with entries included from such areas as body systems, regional injuries (craniofacial, shoulder, knee and so on), special populations (female, pediatric, older athletes), sport-specific injuries, rehabilitation, nutrition, substance use and abuse, sports psychology, the team physician and more.
The Oxford Illustrated Companion to Medicine by Stephen Lock (Editor); George Dunea (Editor); John M. Last (Editor)
Call Number: R 121 .O884 2001
ISBN: 9780192629500
Publication Date: 2001-12-27
Boasting over five hundred illustrations, The Oxford Illustrated Companion to Medicine offers a stimulating, kaleidoscopic account of the current state and past history of the medical, nursing, and allied health sciences. From alchemy to AIDS, and from snakebite to ultrasound, this wide-ranging reference travels both the main avenues and fascinating byways of medicine.