Library Guides: Primary Sources: Finding Primary Sources in Library Resources

Databases with Primary Source content

Academic Search Complete

"This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles."

Under the "Publication Type" limiter, choose Primary Source.

Academic Video Online
Academic Video Online is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary video subscription that supports the entire range of curriculum, from anthropology to zoology. It includes a variety of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, and demonstrations. Includes limited public performance rights.

If the subject you are looking for occurred after the invention of television or other modern media, you can search in this database for accounts filmed at the time. Use the Filter panel to narrow your search, Release Date and Content Type might be particularly helpful.

Bridgeman Images
Bridgeman Education is a complete visual resource offering over 3,000,000 digital images of art, history and culture from global museums, galleries, private collections and contemporary artists all copyright cleared for educational use.
JSTOR

JSTOR is an interdisciplinary digital library consisting of digitized issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It provides full text searches of almost 2,000 journals. Many databases in JSTOR have embargoes of full-text for three or more years, so some information may not be current.
New York Times
Subscription includes access to the New York Times Digital edition for all faculty, staff, and students of Franklin Pierce University. Coverage is from 1851 to date, with some exceptions. Access to archived articles within the date range 1923-1980 is limited to 5 articles per 24-hours once the subscription has been set up. Does not include Crosswords and Times Insider. For more information, and to set up an account see NY Times Libguide.
New York Times Archive
"Over 150 years of New York Times journalism, as it originally appeared." Archival issues of the NYT from 1852 - 2002.