Library Guides: Open Educational Resources: More OER Sources

Unpaywall

If you find a scholarly article on the free web, the Unpaywall extension in your browser will indicate whether an open access version of the article can be downloaded.

JSTOR Database Open Content Module

The JSTOR database open access module contains academic content that is open to everyone, anywhere. Search free articles and open access book chapters.

Open Syllabus Project

If you're looking for examples of how other instructors have approached teaching similar material, consider visiting the Open Syllabus Project. You can search by title (e.g., They Say I Say), authors, and discipline.

Image Repositories

Smithsonian Open Access
Smithsonian Open Access, where you can download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images—right now, without asking. With new platforms and tools, you have easier access to nearly 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from our collections—with many more to come. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.
Art Institute of Chicago
Many famous images downloadable via Creative Commons license
NOAA Photo Library
Downloadable photos from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Association.
NASA Image Gallery
Official NASA photographs from agency photographers chronicle what's making news across the agency, from launches and landings to important science announcements.
USDA Agricultural Research Service Image Gallery
Photos in our Image Gallery are available free of charge and are copyright-free, public domain, images unless otherwise indicated.
more...less...
Please note: these photos may not be used to infer or imply ARS endorsement of any product, company, or position.

When using these photos, we ask that you credit the Agricultural Research Service. You may use one of the following credit lines:

Photo by (photographer's name), USDA Agricultural Research Service.
Photo courtesy of USDA Agricultural Research Service.
Photo courtesy of USDA ARS.
Open Image Collecions
The Open Image Collections is a collection of digital image sources suitable for teaching, learning and research. Sources include museum digital collections, stock images, photo archives, design resources and image search engines.

Khan Academy

Khan Academy
"A non-profit educational organization created in 2006 by Sal Khan. Its goal is to create a set of online tools that help educate students. The organization produces short video lessons. Its website also includes supplementary practice exercises and materials for educators."

Curriki

Curriki
"An online, free, open education service. Curriki is structured as a nonprofit organization to provide open educational resources primarily in support of K-12 education."

MIT OpenCourseWare

MIT OpenCourseWare
"An initiative of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology to publish all of the educational materials from its undergraduate- and graduate-level courses online, freely and openly available to anyone, anywhere.?

Peer 2 Peer University

P2PU
"A nonprofit online open learning community which allows users to organize and participate in courses and study groups to learn about specific topics."

ASSISTments

ASSISTments
"Free tool for assigning math content online. Students receive immediate feedback, teachers receive data insights to drive meaningful instruction."

CourseKata

CourseKata
"an innovative interactive online textbook for teaching introductory statistics and data science in colleges, universities, and high schools."