Library Guides: Online Subscriptions: Online Subscriptions

Open Access Journals do not require a subscription, may be indexed in our databases, and many are peer-reviewed. See the Open Access article in Wikipedia for a broader overview.

Directory of Open Access Journals
The DOAJ covers free, full-text scholarly and scientific journals. The majority of open access journals do not have article processing fees, but some do.

PLoS - Public Library of Science This link opens in a new window
Open Access Science Journals - titles include: PLoS One, PLoS Biology, PLoS Genetics, PLoS Medicine and others.

SAGE Open
SAGE Open is a peer-reviewed, "Gold" open access journal from SAGE that publishes original research and review articles in an interactive, open access format. Articles may span the full spectrum of the social and behavioral sciences and the humanities.
Elsevier Open Access Journals
Many titles, covering a wide variety of topics.

All articles in open access journals which are published by Elsevier have undergone peer review and upon acceptance are immediately and permanently free for everyone to read and download.

In addition to the journal content in our databases, the DiPietro Library subscribes to newspapers and journal content directly. Franklin Pierce University offers access to the New York Times, Economist, and Wall Street Journal to all students faculty and staff. Some of the content (journals like JAMA and NEJM) are accessed via this website. Some subscriptions (The Economist, New York Times, Wall Street Journal) can be accessed via an app on your phone or tablet after your account has been created.

Journal subscriptions:

Academia

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators. Click here for more information: Guide.

Interdisciplinary

Economist.com This link opens in a new window
An online subscription to the Economist Magazine.

Criminal Justice

Journal of Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
The Journal of Criminal Justice is an international journal intended to fill the present need for the dissemination of new information, ideas and methods, to both practitioners and academicians in the criminal justice area. The Journal is concerned with all aspects of the criminal justice system in terms of their relationships to each other.

Health Sciences

JAMA & Archives (1998-present) This link opens in a new window
Journal of the American Medical Association
New England Journal of Medicine This link opens in a new window
Online subscription to one of the preeminent medical journals. Covers a wide variety of medical topics.

Physical Therapy

Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation This link opens in a new window
The Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation publishes original, peer-reviewed research and clinical reports on important trends and developments in physical medicine and rehabilitation and related fields.
Journal of Manipulative and Physiological Therapeutics This link opens in a new window
Journal of Manipulative and Physiological Therapeutics (JMPT) is dedicated to the advancement of chiropractic health care. It provides the latest information on current developments in therapeutics, as well as reviews of clinically oriented research and practical information for use in clinical settings.
Journal of Orthopaedic and Sports Physical Therapy This link opens in a new window
JOSPT prioritizes research with a clear clinical message and potential for immediate impact in musculoskeletal rehabilitation practice.

Sports and Recreation