It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Your guide to local legends, folklore, oral history, and how they all pertain to ghost stories!
The New Hampshire State Library first published Books About New Hampshire in 1946. Updated editions were published in 1955, 1962, 1965 and 1969. This column, by Eleanor O'Donnell of the State Library, showcases new books about New Hampshire or by New Hampshire authors. The column is still being published in Granite State Libraries. Do not consider this guide to be a comprehensive bibliography of all books about New Hampshire. However, it should be helpful to people interested in New Hampshire literature.
The New Hampshire Union Leader and Sunday News deliver trusted news, information and resources connecting the Granite State. As publisher of the only statewide newspapers, we field New Hampshire's largest professional news team. Owned by the Nackey S. Loeb School of Communications, Union Leader Corporation publishes UnionLeader.com and the weekly Neighborhood News and Bedford Bulletin publications.
New Hampshire is apparently one very haunted state. The Granite State is haunted by everything from a love-struck pirate and mischievous children to malevolent spirits in cemeteries and mill workers who perished in fires. Do you dare visit a few this Halloween season?
A field guide to New England's legends, folklore, curious history and weird destinations. It began with a need to explore and travel for fun on weekends and evolved into a full time project and career for the site's author. It is a collection of many years of research and on-going investigation. Haunted houses, ancient structures, monsters, mysterious locations, natural wonders and tales handed down for many generations are a few of the many interesting stories New England has to offer.
The New England Historical Society exists to promote interest in New England history and tell the fascinating stories that are unique to our region. Haunted houses belong to New England lore as much as Revolutionary battles or clipper ship races. Here are stories of six haunted houses, plus some extras suggested by our readers and added in 2017. We use the term 'haunted houses' loosely, for they include hospitals, a library, a dormitory, a lighthouse and a fort.
New England Legends is on a mission to chronicle every legend in New England one story and one week at a time. We're doing this through our weekly podcast which has garnered over 1 million downloads, our Emmy-nominated television series on PBS and Amazon Prime, and through our super-secret Facebook group. Come in and join the movement!
This article from the New England Inns & Resorts Association claims that every New England town has its own spooky folklore, inspired by the centuries-old graveyards and historic buildings that set the stage for hauntings and sightings throughout the region.
In the more rural parts of New England, residents have reported sightings of unexplained beasts that inhabit the night, dawn, dusk, and sometimes, most frighteningly of all, the daylight. Here’s a guide to some of the more famous creatures of the region we have catalogued at the International Cryptozoology Museum in Portland, Maine.
"Hey there folks! Welcome to the American Folklore site, which features retold folktales from all 50 states. We answer those pesky folklore questions that keep you up at night, such as: 'Why is a black cat bad luck?' and 'Who the heck is Paul Bunyan?' So grab a cup of coffee, pull up a comfy chair, and stay awhile." -S.E. Schlosser, author of the Spooky Series published by Globe Pequot Press.
Find popular, Open Access books and articles related to folklore and folklife in the Folklore Commons. Folklore Commons is aggregated within the Digital Commons Network, which brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide.
This collection is housed within the Dartmouth Folklore Archive, which contains local and world folklore collected by students at Dartmouth. Horror folklore in this collection is made of two types: campfire stories and urban legends. Samples of horror folklore were collected around campus using video and audio formats.
The Web Cultures Web Archive includes sites documenting the creation and sharing of emergent cultural traditions on the web. The mission of the American Folklife Center is to document traditional cultural forms and practices, and the proliferation of smart phones, tablets, and wireless Internet connections has positioned networked communication as a space where people increasingly develop and share folklore.
"When we threw out a call to our readers asking what ghost stories and folktales they grew up with in their own traditions, we got back stories of creatures stalking the shadows of Latin American hallways and vengeful demons from South Asia with backwards feet. ...Below are some of the best we've found or that were told to us from Code Switch readers."