Library Guides: Biology Research Guide: Home

Seartch the Library Catalog

Biology Databases

Biological Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
"This database provides access to a wide range of biology topics including some of the most popular information resources for users in academic, government and public research environments."
Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1030 titles, with more than 760 available in full text. Search over 2.7M records, dating back to the mid 1980s.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
"Environment Complete contains more than 2.4 million records from more than 2,200 domestic and international titles going back to 1888 (including over 1,350 active core titles) as well as more than 190 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 920 journals."
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
Medline Complete This link opens in a new window
"MEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more."
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
"This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles."

Biology Journals

Nature
"Nature is a British weekly scientific journal founded and based in London, England. As a multidisciplinary publication, Nature features peer-reviewed research from a variety of academic disciplines, mainly in science and technology."
American Naturalist
"The American Naturalist is the monthly peer-reviewed scientific journal of the American Society of Naturalists, whose purpose is "to advance and to diffuse knowledge of organic evolution and other broad biological principles so as to enhance the conceptual unification of the biological sciences."
Conservation Biology
" the flagship journal of the Society for Conservation Biology, is the leading journal in the field of conservation. Its ground-breaking research articles, essays, and reviews develop new theory and methods, define key problems, and propose solutions, exploring the social, ecological, and philosophical dimensions of the conservation of biological diversity."

JAMA & Archives (1998-present) This link opens in a new window
Journal of the American Medical Association
New England Journal of Medicine This link opens in a new window
Online subscription to one of the preeminent medical journals. Covers a wide variety of medical topics.