Israeli–Palestinian Conflict

"This book is a collection of lectures written by reputable scholars who offer diverse perspectives on the historical, political and cultural struggles in Palestine. Encompassed in the pages are sixteen chapters produced for the Tom Hurndall Memorial Lecture Group. Unlike predecessors of this topic, this book offers a thought-provoking and comprehensive analysis of Palestine, including architectural, cultural, legal, sociological, and psychological questions, providing a larger scope of study that has not yet been done before. Ultimately, this book explores oppression in Palestine and beyond in the Middle East."-- Publisher's website.

"This book presents a study of politico-ideological mobilization and violence by focusing on the life stories, trajectories and narratives of individuals who mobilised for causes and conflicts in the Arab World. It provides a greater understanding of the biographical, sociological, political and historic factors pertinent for their radicalization processes."-- Provided by publisher.

"The conflict between the Israelis and the Palestinians is considered intractable by many, and is frequently characterized by the violence between the two sides. In attempts at peace, the starting point for negotiations is a cessation of violence; beneath this, however, lies a plethora of other issues to be addressed. This unique text brings together Israeli and Palestinian viewpoints on a number of key issues and topics, making clear the points of agreement as well as the views that divide. The chapters deal first with three issues that require compromise and resolution for a peace treaty to be realized - water, refugees, and borders, territory and settlements - and then with three important concepts that can either impede or promote peace: democracy, human rights, and peace culture and education. Thus, the book provides an invaluable opportunity to understand, at least in part, the divergent and even convergent interests and understandings of Israelis and Palestinians on issues and concepts important to the peace process. As such, it will be a valuable resource for courses on conflict resolution, the Middle East peace process, and political science."

"In The Power of Dialogue between Israelis and Palestinians, scholar and activist Nava Sonnenschein shares a collection of twenty-five powerful interviews she conducted with Palestinian and Jewish Israeli alumni of peacebuilding courses, a decade after their graduation. Participants with diverse personal and professional backgrounds completed a series of conflict transformation workshops using the model developed by the School for Peace at the world's only intentional Jewish-Palestinian community, Neve Shalom-Wahat al-Salam ("Oasis of Peace" in Hebrew and Arabic). Critically, the interviews vividly demonstrate that peacebuilding does not end with the courses. Most of the graduates choose to work professionally in roles that contribute to peace-building. Sonnenschein shows the transformational potential of encounter between members of groups in conflict, sharing how ordinary Israelis and Palestinians coming together in an open and honest environment undergo life-changing experiences that provide concrete hope for a sustainable path to a peaceful shared existence as equals in Israel and Palestine."

"The news coming out of the Israel-Palestine conflict remains grim. The region remains a symbol of instability fueled by violence and hatred. In Our Way to Fight, journalist and author Michael Riordon offers a different perspective, exploring the conflict through local Israeli and Palestinian peace activists who break all stereotypes. Riordon travels to thousand-year-old olive groves, besieged villages, refugee camps, checkpoints, and barracks, talking with people on both sides of the Wall who fight violence and war through creative resistance. He uncovers the crises that stirred them to act, the risks they face in working for peace, and the small victories that sustain them. In the face of deepening conflict, Our Way to Fight is a portrait of courageous grassroots action that provides hope for a livable future and inspiration to peace activists in all nations."

"Global Palestine provides a unique perspective on one of the world's most enduring political controversies----the nature and extent of the rights owed to Palestinians----by exploring a deceptively simple question: What does "Palestine" mean outside of local arenas? How does the idea of Palestine power larger social and political developments? To construct his answer, John Collins assumes three overlapping premises: that contemporary Palestine is the site of an ongoing project of settler colonization; that Palestine's global importance is increasing in inverse proportion to the amount of territory actually controlled by Palestinians, as the growing movement of international solidarity indicates; and that the supposedly local struggle over Palestinian rights in fact reflects four global processes shaping the conditions in which we live----colonization, securitization, acceleration, and occupation----and is therefore intricately connected to them. Collins finds these processes have not only influenced the idea and physical space of Palestine but also become profoundly altered through their interaction with theoretical conceptions of Palestine across the globe. This outcome reflects an important emerging trend in global conditions, which is brought into sharp relief by Collins's expert analysis. His approach enables a fresh encounter with the new politics of violence, resistance, and solidarity springing from what Walter Benjamin once called 'the tradition of the oppressed.'"

"This history of the Arab Israeli War of 1967 includes a basic outline of pre-1948 history of the region, the history of Zionism and the peace negotiations of the 1990s."

"This extraordinary book brings together the thoughts of 15 pre-eminent philosophers on one of the most important political and cultural crises of our time. As we begin to realize the extent to which terrorism and the Israel/Palestine conflict-and the ways in which we handle them-are likely to determine the shaping of the West of the future, this short and accessible book introduces all the key issues from a philosophical perspective. Introduced by Stephen Law, Israel, Palestine and Terror presents a powerful and provocative overview of a hugely topical debate. It presents a whole range of political and philosophical views and perspectives to illuminate this contentious issue. Contributors include such leading figures as Noam Chomsky and Ted Honderich."

"A major modern conundrum is how the Arab/Israel conflict remains unresolved and, seemingly, unresolvable. In this inspirational book, Rabbi Michael Lerner suggests that a change in consciousness is crucial. With clarity and honesty, he examines how the mutual demonization and discounting of each sides' legitimate needs drive the debate, and he points to new ways of thinking that can lead to a solution. Lerner emphasizes that this new approach to the issue requires giving primacy to love, kindness, and generosity. It calls for challenging the master narratives in both Israel and Palestine as well as the false idea that "homeland security" can be achieved through military, political, economic, or media domination. Lerner makes the case that a lasting peace must prioritize helping people on all sides (including Europe and the U.S.) and that real security is best achieved through an ethos of caring and generosity toward "the other." As many spiritual leaders have taught, problems like these cannot be solved at the same level at which they originated-one must seek higher ground, and that becomes a central task for anyone who wants a sustainable peace. Embracing Israel/Palestine is written for those looking for positive, practical solutions to this ongoing dilemma."

"The occupation of the West Bank and Gaza has been one of the world's most widely reported yet least understood human rights crises for over four decades. In this oral history collection, men and women from Palestine--including a fisherman, a settlement administrator, and a marathon runner--describe in their own words how their lives have been shaped by the historic crisis. Other narrators include: ABEER, a young journalist from Gaza City who launched her career by covering bombing raids on the Gaza Strip. IBTISAM, the director of a multi-faith children's center in the West Bank whose dream of starting a similar center in Gaza has so far been hindered by border closures. GHASSAN, an Arab-Christian physics professor and activist from Bethlehem who co-founded the International Solidarity Movement."

"The Routledge Atlas of the Arab-Israeli Conflict traces not only the tangled and bitter history of the Arab-Jewish struggle from the early twentieth century to the present, including the death of Yasser Arafat and recent proposals for compromise and co-operation, it also illustrates the current moves towards finding peace, and the efforts to bring the horrors of the fighting to an end through negotiation and agreed boundaries. In 227 maps, the complete history of the conflict is revealed, including: The Prelude and Background to the Conflict - from the presence of Jews in Palestine before the Arab conquest to the attitude of Britain to the Arabs and Jews since 1915 The Jewish National Home - from the early Jewish settlement and the Zionist plan for Palestine in 1919 to the involvement of the Arab world from 1945 to the present day The Intensification of the Conflict - from the Arab response to the United Nations partition plan of November 1947 to the declaration of Israeli independence in May 1948 The State of Israel - from the Israeli War of Independence and the Suez and Six Day Wars to the October War (the Yom Kippur War), the first and second intifadas, the suicide-bomb campaign, the Israel-Hezbollah War of 2006, Operation Cast lead against the Gaza Strip in 2009, the Gaza Flotilla of 2012 and Nakba Day 2011 The Moves to find Peace - from the first and second Camp David talks and the death of Arafat, to the continuing search for peace, including the Annapolis Conference, 2007, the work of the Quartet Emissary, Tony Blair 2007-2011, and the ongoing Palestinian search for statehood."- Publisher

"In a timely reminder of how the past informs the present, Baruch Kimmerling and Joel Migdal offer an authoritative account of the history of the Palestinian people from their modern origins to the Oslo peace process and beyond. Palestinians struggled to create themselves as a people from the first revolt of the Arabs in Palestine in 1834 through the British Mandate to the impact of Zionism and the founding of Israel. Their relationship with the Jewish people and the State of Israel has been fundamental in shaping that identity, and today Palestinians find themselves again at a critical juncture. In the 1990s cornerstones for peace were laid for eventual Palestinian-Israeli coexistence, including mutual acceptance, the renunciation of violence as a permanent strategy, and the establishment for the first time of Palestinian self-government. But the dawn of the twenty-first century saw a reversion to unmitigated hatred and mutual demonization. By mid-2002 the brutal violence of the Intifada had crippled Palestine's fledgling political institutions and threatened the fragile social cohesion painstakingly constructed after 1967. Kimmerling and Migdal unravel what went right--and what went wrong--in the Oslo peace process, and what lessons we can draw about the forces that help to shape a people. The authors present a balanced, insightful, and sobering look at the realities of creating peace in the Middle East."

"These essays, written between 1966 and 2010 by lifelong Israeli activist and theorist Moshé Machover, cover diverse aspects of Israeli society and the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. Elaborating on the ideas of the Socialist Organization in Israel (Matzpen), two interrelated themes appear throughout the collection: the necessity of understanding the Israeli-Palestinian conflict in a regional context and the connection between Palestinian liberation and the struggle for socialism throughout the Middle East."