Education Subject Guide

"The 19th Century Schoolbooks Collection contains schoolbooks from the Nietz Old Textbook Collection. In addition, this online collection also contains two works by Dr. John Nietz, which survey historic American schoolbooks in the context of the history of education."

Massive collection of primary sources and digital objects that cover multiple facets of American History, from the Library of Congress

A collection of rhetoric and speeches, including speeches from Obama and from movies.

A website on all things Canadian, from arts and culture to sports and recreation.

Humanities resources from Marco Polo and the National Endowment for the Humanities

"This collection contains electronic versions of eighty books originally sponsored by the U.S. Army and written by researchers affiliated with the Library’s Federal Research Division. Intended for a general audience, the studies provide descriptions and analyses of lesser-known countries or regions where U.S. military forces might be deployed."

"Designed for high school and college teachers and students, History Matters serves as a gateway to web resources and offers other useful materials for teaching U.S. history."

"dedicated to the memory of the six million Jewish people slaughtered during the Holocaust and the millions other people slaughtered during the Nazi era. It strives to combat prejudice and bigotry by transforming the horrors of the Holocaust into positive lessons to help make this a better and safer world for everybody."

"An international hub for social historians worldwide. It offers and produces historical sources and data, facilitates socio-economic history research and collaborates internationally in ground breaking research projects."

Contains information on Chinese history aimed at educators.

"Women’s Rights National Historical Park tells the story of the first Women’s Rights Convention, held in Seneca Falls, New York on July 19-20, 1848. It is a story of struggles for civil rights, human rights, and equality, global struggles that continue today. The efforts of women’s rights leaders, abolitionists, and other 19th century reformers remind us that all people must be accepted as equals."