Library Guides: Education Subject Guide: Home

Search the Library Catalog

Suggested Databases

ERIC This link opens in a new window
Extensive index to educational literature containing some 1.5 million items, including journal articles, unpublished documents, research reports, curricular materials, etc.

Using ERIC
Guide to searching the ERIC database

ERIC: Education Resources Information Center
The Institute of Education Sciences (IES) sponsors the ERIC digital library and provides it free of charge to the public. IES funds and oversees all activities associated with acquiring and indexing ERIC content and providing an easy-to-use website, search engine, and research tools. IES makes the ERIC metadata available to the public. Many third-party providers download the ERIC metadata and make it available on their own search platforms. They might bundle ERIC with other databases, offer access on a subscription basis, or provide it through other access models.

Education Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
"ProQuest® Education Journals gives users access to over 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education. Many titles are indexed in the ERIC database."

JSTOR: Education
Journals in JSTOR specific to Education

APA PsycINFO & APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
"The PsycINFO®, database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages."
Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database provides abstracts and indexing for key Psychology titles, many which are available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
"This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles."
Opposing Viewpoints: Gale in Context This link opens in a new window
-More than 20,100 pro/con viewpoints
-More than 19,200 reference articles, including topic overviews
-More than 12,700 charts and graphs, along with other statistical information
-300+ profiles of federal agencies and special-interest

Praxis Test Prep

Mometrix Test Prep This link opens in a new window
Mometrix helps students prepare for standardized tests by offering study guides, flashcards, study secrets, and practice tests for more than 30 exams. Find help with LSTA, GRE, Praxis II, and more here.

Background Information

Gale Virtual Reference Library: Education This link opens in a new window
Explore topics in education using Gale Virtual Reference!

How can I access library databases?

In order to access databases from off-campus you need your Franklin Pierce email address and password.

Your username is the information before the @ symbol in your email address. For example, if your email is smithj11@live.franklinpierce.edu then your username is smithj11.

Education Subject Guide

Chat Widget

Research Appointment

Search the Library Catalog

Suggested Databases

Praxis Test Prep

Background Information

How can I access library databases?