Library Guides: Philosophy Research Guide: Home

Discovery Search box

Philosophy Databases

Academic Search Complete
Includes indexing for thousands of articles in many different areas of philosophy, with many available in full text online.
JSTOR

JSTOR is an interdisciplinary digital library consisting of digitized issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It provides full text searches of almost 2,000 journals. Many databases in JSTOR have embargoes of full-text for three or more years, so some information may not be current.
ProQuest Central
"This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos."
Religion Database (Proquest)
"This database provides a wide range of primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought. Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion."

Finding a Journal Article

If you have a citation to an article or your instructor has told you to look in a particular journal, you have several different options to find the article. Most of the journals that the DiPietro Library subscribes to are available in our databases.

To search for a journal or article:

search by journal or article title using JournalFinder to see if the article/journal you are looking for is available in full-text in one of our databases;
search our catalog to see if it is available in paper (paper journals are shelved in title order on the lower level);
if it is not available in the DiPietro Library you can submit an Interlibrary Loan request via RavenRequest;
if you would like help finding the article contact a Reference Librarian for further assistance.