Library Guides: Sports and Recreation Management: Home

Search the Library Catalog

Recommended Databases

SPORTDiscus
"Provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre, SPORTDiscus offers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains well over 1.7 million records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800."
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
ProQuest Business
Collection of business databases accessible through the ProQuest Central databases. Look up scholarly and popular articles as well as trade and industry reports.
Academic Search Complete
"This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles."
ProQuest Central
"This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos."

eJournals

Subscription Journal

Open Access Journals

Listed below are peer-reviewed open access journals related to the field of Sports and Recreation Management. Open Access journals are available to the public free of charge.

International Journal of Sport Management, Recreation and Tourism
IJSMaRT is a refereed Journal published six times per year (since 2016). IJSMaRT aims to present current practice and research in the area of sport management and marketing, recreation and sport tourism.
International Journal of Urban Labour and Leisure
he International Journal of Urban Labour and Leisure, focuses on on-going and emerging debates across a wide range of social science disciplines. It is also a forum for contributors to consider the issues of the contemporary employment experience.
Journal of Hospitality, Leisure, Sport & Tourism Education - JoHLSTE
The Journal of Hospitality, Leisure, Sport and Tourism Education (JoHLSTE) is the leading international, peer-reviewed educational journal for this subject grouping.
Journal of Physical Education and Sports Management
Journal of Physical Education and Sports Management is the official research journal of Research Institute for Policy Development. The purpose of the journal is to provide a forum for high quality educational research for a national and international readership.
Journal of Sport for Development
The Journal of Sport for Development (JSFD) is a peer-reviewed, open-access journal whose
mission is to advance, examine and disseminate evidence and best practices for programmes and interventions that use sport to promote development, health and/or peace.
Physical Culture and Sports Studies and Research
Physical Culture and Sport. Studies and Research is directed to the representatives of the social sciences of sport. The main goal of the journal is to present the most current (and only the best) papers from European, Western and Eastern countries of the world. It focuses on symbolic, axiological, and comparative aspects of contemporary sport.
The Sport Journal
A peer-reviewed journal of sports, published by the United States Sports Academy. The United States Sports Academy was the first and is the only one of its kind in the United States. It was established in 1972 to turn around a new scientific finding that linked poor preparation of coaches to the injuries incurred by the athletes they supervised. Today, coaches everywhere can prepare thoroughly for their work. Through sports-focused instruction, support of research, and teamwork with professional groups like the National Federation of State High School Associations, the Academy showed how to meet sports professionals’ educational needs.

Finding a Journal

If you have a citation to an article or your instructor has told you to look in a particular journal, you have several different options to find the article. Most of the journals that the DiPietro Library subscribes to are available in our databases.

To search for a journal or article:

search by journal or article title using JournalFinder to see if the article/journal you are looking for is available in full-text in one of our databases;
search our catalog to see if it is available in paper (paper journals are shelved in title order on the lower level);
if it is not available in the DiPietro Library you can submit an Interlibrary Loan request via RavenRequest;
if you would like help finding the article contact a Reference Librarian for further assistance.

Sports and Recreation Management

Ask a Librarian

Guide Assistance