Library Guides: Native American History and Culture: Databases

Archival

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection

AAS Historical Periodicals includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals not available from any other source and provide rich content detailing American history and culture from the mid-18th century through the late-19th century. These specialized collections cover advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.

European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new window
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 is a free archive of indexed publications related to the Americas and written in Europe before 1750. It includes thousands of valuable primary source records covering the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples.
New York Times Archive This link opens in a new window
"Over 150 years of New York Times journalism, as it originally appeared." Archival issues of the NYT from 1852 - 2002.

Videos

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary video subscription that supports the entire range of curriculum, from anthropology to zoology. It includes a variety of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, and demonstrations. Includes limited public performance rights.

History and Culture

Gale Virtual Reference Library: Anthropology This link opens in a new window
Explore background information on anthropology topics through Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library: History This link opens in a new window
Find background information on history and political science topics
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an interdisciplinary digital library consisting of digitized issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It provides full text searches of almost 2,000 journals.
JSTOR: American Indian Studies This link opens in a new window
Explore JSTOR's collection of journals, articles, and books related to American Indian studies.
JSTOR: American Studies This link opens in a new window
Explore JSTOR's collection of journals, articles and books related to American Studies

Religion

JSTOR: Religion This link opens in a new window
Explore JSTOR's collection of databases related to religion
Religion Database (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
"This database provides a wide range of primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought. Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion."

Art, Crafts, Literature, Music and Dance

Arts & Humanities Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies. It is designed to complement the following indexes: ABM, Avery, BHA, BHI, DAAI, Index Islamicus, MLA, Philosopher's Index and RILM.
JSTOR: Language and Literature This link opens in a new window
Explore JSTOR's collection of journals related to language and literature

Sports and Games

SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
"Provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre, SPORTDiscus offers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains well over 1.7 million records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800."

Food

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an interdisciplinary digital library consisting of digitized issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It provides full text searches of almost 2,000 journals.
JSTOR: American Indian Studies This link opens in a new window
Explore JSTOR's collection of journals, articles, and books related to American Indian studies.
JSTOR: American Studies This link opens in a new window
Explore JSTOR's collection of journals, articles and books related to American Studies

General

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
"This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles."
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
A large collection of academic eBooks on a wide variety of topics. Books can be checked out for three weeks, or read within the browser. Most books allow limited printing of pages. For assistance in using this resource check the eBooks LibGuide.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Searches popular magazines and newspapers.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
"This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos."

Teachers Resources

Education Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
"ProQuest® Education Journals gives users access to over 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education. Many titles are indexed in the ERIC database."
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Extensive index to educational literature containing some 1.5 million items, including journal articles, unpublished documents, research reports, curricular materials, etc.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A complimentary research database for teachers, Teacher Reference Center (TRC) provides indexing and abstracts for more than 230 peer-reviewed journals.