Library Guides: Women Artists Though The Ages: Websites

American Women Artists

This American Women Artists Smithsonian website is a small sampling of women artists and their works in the vast visual arts collections of the Smithsonian. The Smithsonian tells the stories of women within the Smithsonian museums and beyond the Smithsonian walls, critically examining the past and highlighting art and artists who might have been overlooked historically.

Archives of Women Artists NMWA

The Archives of Women Artists NMWA is dedicated to collecting and preserving the papers and primary records of women visual artists and organizations that promote women’s contributions to the arts. The archive includes personal papers, correspondence, gallery guides, sketches, photographs, slides, and other unique materials. Detailed finding aids are available to explore available materials in the Archives of Women Artists.

Women Artists by Nancy Heller
ISBN: 9780847822904
Publication Date: 2000-11-18
Noteworthy women artists and key works of the National Museum of Women in the Arts. Illustrated history of five centuries of art. Spans from the Renaissance to the present, featuring eighty-six women artists from around the world. Divided into seven sections representing chronological and regional groupings. Each section contains an introductory essay that places the works in historical context. Illustrating the works in full color, portrait of each artist, a brief biographical essay with a discussion of her work, and a description of the piece shown. Endnotes and a complete listing of the artists whose works constitute the museum's 2,600 holdings are provided as well.
A Museum of Their Own by Wilhelmina Cole Holladay (Contribution by); Philip Kopper (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9780789210036
Publication Date: 2008-11-18
Wilhelmina Cole Holliday founded a museum in 1987. Story of the birth and early years of the NMWA is a lively, anecdotal, behind-the-scenes, eyewitness glimpse of the efforts of dedicated individuals who shared Mrs. Holladay's vision and, under her leadership, helped her expand the permanent collection, organize outstanding exhibitions, renovate the museum, and fund a robust endowment. NMWA has a growing membership, among the top ten museums in the world, with active, vocal committees all across the nation and in many countries. 130 color pictures, which include works from the collection and from exhibitions, as well as 40 archival photographs of landmark events that led to the museum's impressive growth.