Primary Sources

Beginning with an extensive overview essay of the period, this book focuses on 26 pressing issues of the war and the early republic. Each issue is presented with an introductory essay and multiple primary documents from the newspapers of the day, which illustrate both sides of the debate.

Each of the 29 chapters introduces an event or issue and includes news articles that represented various American opinions. These introductory essays and primary-source documents illustrate how newspapers and magazines presented matters of great national import, in an age when the opinions of the press frequently influenced broad American sentiment and action

The first narrative history of the Civil War told by the very people it freed

Drawn from letters, diaries, speeches, articles, poems, songs, military reports, legal opinions, and memoirs, The Civil War: The First Year gathers over 120 pieces by more than sixty participants to create a unique firsthand narrative of this great historical crisis.

The Library of America's ambitious four-volume series continues with this volume that traces events from January 1862 to January 1863, an unforgettable portrait of the crucial year that turned a secessionist rebellion into a war of emancipation.

Documenting Intimate Matters features seventy-two documents that collectively highlight the broad diversity inherent in the history of American sexuality.

Drawing upon nearly two hundred years of recorded African American oratory, this valuable collection will serve as an essential guide to the African American oratory tradition.

This unprecedented volume brings together 367 letters written by Theodore Roosevelt between 1881 and 1919. Also included are four speeches, best known by the phrases they introduced into the language: "The Strenuous Life" (1899); "The Big Stick" (1901); "The Man in the Arena" (1910); and "The New Nationalism" (1910).

Learn about war, the draft, and how people in the Allied countries contributed to the war effort.

My Dear Mr. Stalin is the first publication that contains the complete correspondence between Franklin D. Roosevelt and Joseph V. Stalin. This collection of more than three hundred hot-war messages, never before fully available in any language, is an invaluable primary source for understanding the relationship that developed between these two great world leaders during a time of supreme world crisis.

This book is in the form of a diary of military service kept from 3 September 1939 to release in spring 1946.

Debates over the use and abuse of drugs, the laws controlling drugs in this country, and the question of whether or not certain drugs should be legally available have inflamed Americans since the 19th-century, and continue to flourish as America attempts to rage its war on drugs. Students can trace the history and development of these arguments, as well as the reactions to them, through this unique collection of over 250 primary documents.

Among the primary sources included are iconic legal and constitutional documents such as the Code of Hammurabi, Magna Carta, and African Union Constitutive Act; famous treatises such as the Communist Manifesto, and Osama bin Laden's Declaration of Jihad.

Our Documents is a collection of 100 documents that the staff of the National Archives has judged most important to the development of the United States.

Milestone Documents of American Leaders features important full-text sources written by presidents, jurists, legislators and other influential people who helped shape the nation.

This series offers students and researchers in-depth, analytical essays illuminating famous primary source documents from U.S and world history.

This primary source reader assembles key documents and firsthand accounts that are emblematic of American life from the end of World War II to the present. .