Library Guides: Clinical Mental Health Counseling: Research Resources

Research Resources - Databases

Use these databases to find scholarly and professional articles:

Psychology

APA PsycINFO & APA PsycARTICLES
"The PsycINFO®, database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages."
ProQuest Psychology Resources
This database provides abstracts and indexing for key Psychology titles, many which are available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.

Sociology

Social Science Database (ProQuest)
Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
SocINDEX with Full Text
"SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908."

Other useful databases:

Medline Complete
"MEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more."
Academic Search Complete

"This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles."

Research Resources - Books

The DiPietro library's collection includes both eBooks and physical books. Many eBooks can be searched in the EBSCO ebooks collection. Titles in the EBSCO ebook collection have varying permissions in terms of printing, saving, and downloading.

EBSCO eBooks
A large collection of academic eBooks on a wide variety of topics. Books can be checked out for three weeks, or read within the browser. Most books allow limited printing of pages. For assistance in using this resource check the eBooks LibGuide.

Both paper books and ebooks can be searched through our online catalog. If you are physically remote from the Rindge campus, change the search from "DiPietro Library" to "Libraries Worldwide" to find materials near you or that may be requested via Interlibrary Loan.

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Search by PMID / DOI

Lookup a journal article by DOI or PMID

Guide Assistance

Research Resources - Databases

Research Resources - Books