It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A collection of databases containing high quality, in-depth evidence to assist in healthcare decision making. Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, which provides peer-reviewed systematic reviews and protocols.
CINAHL®Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL®Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.
PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
From the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (US Dept. of Health and Human Services)
What is Evidence Based Practice?
“Evidence-based practice (EBP) is a problem-solving approach to the delivery of health care that integrates the best evidence from studies and patient care data with clinician expertise and patient preferences and values.”
Melnyk, B., Fineout-Overholt, E., Stillwell, S., & Williamson, K. (2009). Evidence-based practice: step by step. Igniting a spirit of inquiry: an essential foundation for evidence-based practice: how nurses can build the knowledge and skills they need to implement ERP. American Journal of Nursing, 109(11), 49-52. Retrieved from Nursing@OVID database.
Evidence Based Practice Books
How to Read a Paper by Trisha GreenhalghHow to Read a Paper describes the different types of clinical research reporting, and explains how to critically appraise the publications. The book provides the tools to find and evaluate the literature, and implement the findings in an evidence-based, patient-centered way. Written for anyone in the health care professions who has little or no knowledge of evidence-based medicine, it provides a clear understanding of the concepts and how to put them into practice at the basic, clinical level. Changes for the 4th edition The fourth edition will include two new chapters on important developments in health care research and delivery, but otherwise retains its original style, size, and scope. New chapter on quality improvement - describing papers on quality improvement projects using ebm methods; this will extend the readership to non clinical health care professionals working in hospitals and family practice, and to nurse specialists and practice nurses working in this field New chapter on complex interventions - how to set up research projects involving both qualitative and quantitative methodology (known as mixed methods) Thorough revision and updating of existing chapters and references New illustrations - diagrammatic representations of ebm concepts
Call Number: R 118.6 .G74 2010 AND eBook
Publication Date: 2010-05-24
Evidence-Based Practice by Martin DawesThe book is a comprehensive guide to all the main strands of EBHC - finding and implementing evidence for use in clinical practice. Its focus is health professionals in the primary care field, and it consciously uses case examples from a variety of professional contexts. Examples and questions relevant to primary care practice are featured throughout the text. It discusses principles as well as practice, and provides guidance for teachers. Written in clear, jargon-free language A 'how to do' manual, takes the reader step by step trough the process Case studies, worked examples and activities scattered throughout text Multi-disciplinary approach Fully updated New references Covers latest developments
Call Number: PA Program - Lebanon
Publication Date: 2005-03-08
Painless Evidence-Based Medicine by Antonio L. Dans (Editor); Leonila F. Dans (Editor); Maria Asuncion A. Silvestre (Editor)This concise book presents evidence-based medicine to neophytes in simplified, friendly language. Basic concepts and application of research statistics are presented in simple sequences that are non-threatening even to the mathematically challenged. The authors emphasize two important aspects of appraisal: 1) how directly it provides an answer to the clinical problem at hand and 2) how well results can be generalized to various populations. Painless Evidence-Based Medicine: Offers a simplified approach to the complex or technical subject of evidence-based medicine, in terms of presentation as well as content Is truly designed for the world market place Breaks the subject into succinct chapters, each chapter being a self sufficient introduction to the topic Includes pre-tested 'tackle boxes' throughout to help readers understand the issues Painless Evidence-Based Medicine is an invaluable resource for medical students, clinicians, clinical epidemiology practitioners, and everyone involved in health care.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2008-04-15
Implementing the Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) Competencies in Healthcare by Bernadette Mazurek Melnyk; Lynn Gallagher-Ford; Ellen Fineout-Overholt; Sigma Theta Tau International Staff (Contribution by)Hospitals and healthcare systems around the world have attempted to build and sustain evidence-based practice (EBP) cultures and environments, yet they have struggled to clearly understand what EBP competency means. Implementing the Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) Competencies in Healthcare clears up that confusion and serves as a guide for clinicians, leaders, faculty, EBP mentors, and students in achieving EBP competency, facilitating evidence- based decision making in daily practice, and accelerating the speed at which research knowledge is translated into real-world settings to improve health outcomes and decrease healthcare costs. Authors Bernadette Mazurek Melnyk, Lynn Gallagher-Ford, and Ellen Fineout-Overholt provide step-by-step explanations and case scenarios that illustrate realistic advice and ready-to-use resources to help organizations integrate EBP broadly and deeply across their infrastructure to improve patient care quality and safety.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2016-06-01
Smith's Patient Centered Interviewing: an Evidence-Based Method, Fourth Edition by Auguste H. Fortin; Richard M. Frankel; Robert C. Smith; Francesca C. Dwamena; Brenda L. LepistoPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The definitive evidence-based guide to effective patient-centered interviewing A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Smith's Patient-Centered Interviewing, Fourth Edition is a practical introductory textbook covering the essentials of patient interviewing. The most evidence based-guide available on the topic, and endorsed by the Academy of Communication in Healthcare, this acclaimed resource applies the proven 5-Step approach which integrates patient and clinical centered skills to improve effectiveness without adding extra time to the interview duration. Smith's Patient-Centered Interviewing covers important topics such as: *Patient Education *Motivating for behavior change *Breaking bad news *Managing different personality types *Increasing personal awareness in mindful practice *Nonverbal communication *Using computers in the exam room *Reporting and presenting evaluations The book's user-friendly design features icons, boxed case vignettes, and the use of color to highlight key points. Learning aids include practice exercises in each chapter, a pocket card, lists of essential questions, and graphics that facilitate understanding and retention. If you are in need of an evidence-based text that provides a proven systematic framework for taking an effective history, your search ends here.