Library Guides: Archives and Special Collections: Citing archival resources

Citation examples

Citing Your Research

It is important to cite primary source materials as completely as possible in order for researchers to be able to find the item again. However, citing archival materials can be complicated. In general, the following information is expected:

author (if applicable)
title of the item (or description)
date of the item
collection
box and folder numbers
the repository name and location (Franklin Pierce University Archives, DiPietro Library, Rindge, New Hampshire)

Some examples:

Letter

Jones, Thomas. Letter to Franklin Pierce. 15 September 1841. President Franklin Pierce Collection, Box 2, File 5. Franklin Pierce University Archives, DiPietro Library, Rindge, New Hampshire

Meeting Minutes

Curriculum Committee minutes. 5 May, 2014. Curriculum Committee Collection, Box 8, File 7. Franklin Pierce University Archives, DiPietro Library, Rindge, New Hampshire

Photograph

"Crew Team on Pearly Pond." c. 2005. Photographs, Student Collection, Sports File 6. Franklin Pierce University Archives, DiPietro Library, Rindge, New Hampshire

Publication

Wilhelm, Carter. "Cookies with the Provost." Corvus Corax: Honors Program Newsletter. Spring 2014. Student Publications Collection, Box 18, File 4. Franklin Pierce University Archives, DiPietro Library, Rindge, New Hampshire

Additional citation help

Library of Congress - Citing Primary Sources
This resource from the Library of Congress provides a brief description of primary sources as well as examples of how to cite digitized primary sources in Chicago, MLA, and APA citation styles.
Purdue OWL - Citing Archival Resources
Because archivists strive to preserve the unique order of collections when they are donated, universal guidelines for citing archival sources have not been established. However, we suggest the following methods based on best scholarly practices.