Metadata: "Data that provides information about other data." In digital libraries/archives, metadata is what makes digital objects discoverable and accessible. There are different types of metadata, including descriptive, structural, administrative, and more. Depending on varying needs and circumstances, institutions will adapt or create different metadata standards and schemas. Our digital archives use an adapted version of the Dublin Core metadata schema.
Search the digital archives by entering a keyword (name, place, topic, etc.) into the search box at the top right corner of your screen. Search from the digital archives home page to search all collections. To search within a collection, first select that collection and then conduct your search.
Advanced Search Link
To enter multiple search criteria, you may choose to conduct an advanced search.
An advanced search allows you to conduct a search in select collections, in specific fields, and with multiple search terms.
Search Within A Record
Once you find an object that you are interested in, you may then search the available metadata and transcripts associated with that record by entering search terms in the "Search this record" field.
How To Browse
Select A Collection
To browse the digital archives, begin by selecting an available collection.
From the collection's landing page, you can review the collection description and then hit "Browse."
Browse Objects In A Collection
From the results page, you can scan and browse available objects. Objects are sorted by date in ascending order.
Limit Results With Search Facets
You may also limit your results by using the search facets on the left side of the screen. Note that not all objects have rich metadata records with subjects--many only use required fields. All records have Academic Year fields, however.
Navigating the Digital Archives
About Compound Objects
Before intensively searching the digital archives, it is good to know a little about what we call compound objects. Compound objects are two or more files bound together with an XML structure. In the digital archives, a yearbook or a newspaper is a compound object, whereas something like a photograph contains a single file and associated record.
Object Level Description
An object description is the metadata record for an entire compound object. For instance, the object record describes an entire newspaper, yearbook, or magazine.
Object Description Record
The object record is for object-level description. Access an object record by navigating to the "object description" tab.
Item Level Description
An item description is the metadata record for a single page in a compound object. For example, each page in a newspaper has its own page-level item record.
Item Description Record
The item record is for page-level description. Access a page-level item record by navigating to the "item description" tab.
Access An Object's Many Pages
Navigate to an object's many pages and their associated item-level page records from the menu on the right side of your object viewer.