Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Services

New eBooks List

Browse highlights from our most recent acquisitions!

Collection Development Policies

DiPietro Library is committed to purchasing information resources in a variety of formats.  As responsible stewards of the library collection, Franklin Pierce University librarians monitor collection needs with the intent of providing the best possible access to information and service to patrons. The University Librarian, who has ultimate responsibility for all purchasing decisions, annually allocates the information resources budget for print and electronic resources. Because the university stresses teaching over research, no attempt is made to build a comprehensive research collection. Library collection development is responsive to changing institutional and academic priorities. The curriculum itself is the primary guide to collection needs. A good quality collection is emphasized over quantity.

Development of the library collection is informed by the American Library Association's Freedom to Read Statement, as well as the Association for College and Research Libraries Intellectual Freedom Principles for Academic Libraries.   

We endorse and are guided by the current statement regarding Academic Freedom, as included in section 6.2 of the 2019-2023 Rindge Faculty Federation CBA: "There shall be no censorship of the Library collection."  

We strive to collect materials that reflect a diversity of viewpoints, including works created by and representative of marginalized and underrepresented groups.  Per the guidance of Diverse Collections: An Interpretation of the Library Bill of Rights from the American Library Association, we seek content that is created by and representative of marginalized and underrepresented groups.  

General purchase considerations: With the exception of some books purchased expressly for use in satellite locations, all materials purchased with Library funds, either restricted or non-restricted, will be housed in the DiPietro Library and be made available to all FPU patrons.  Materials are acquired with the goal of supporting the institution's curriculum, but some titles for recreational reading will be considered for purchase.  Appropriate titles that pertain to New Hampshire or the greater New England region may be considered for purchase.  Titles published by institutional faculty members will be purchased for inclusion in both the main and special collections.  Note: a separate policy exists for items purchased for inclusion in the Library's Curriculum Collection.  

Format: Depending on academic discipline, price, principle audience, and estimated length of relevance, books will be purchased in hardback, paperback, or electronic formats (ebooks).  

Identification of titles: Library staff identify titles for possible purchase from the following: various review sources, vendor notification lists, publisher catalogs, best title lists and bibliographies, as well as requests from institution faculty, staff, and students.  

Language: With rare exceptions, only English-language titles will be purchased.

Level: Most titles purchased will be intended for an undergraduate reading level, but others intended for graduate students or faculty will also be considered as appropriate.  

Number of copies: As a general rule, the Library will purchase only one copy of a title.  

Textbooks: The Library does not typically purchase titles used as textbooks in university courses, but under some circumstances will make an exception to this rule.  

Deselection Principles

The Library practices regular deselection of materials in all formats.  Deselection is generally the responsibility of the library staff, but faculty may be consulted as appropriate.  

Among the reasons materials may be considered for removal from the collection are the following:

  • They have become outdated or have been replaced by subsequent editions.  
  • They no longer support the current curriculum.
  • Their physical condition warrants deselection or replacement.
  • They have not circulated within the last ten years (this date range will vary by discipline).  
  • Duplicate copies of the title exist, or the material is included as part of an anthology or collection.  

Materials removed from the collection are generally sold to used book vendors, such as Better World Books.  Other titles are recycled, or offered for sale on campus.  

Suggestions for Acquisition

All members of the Franklin Pierce University community are encouraged to make suggestions for acquisition of library materials. Please submit suggestions for new acquisitions using the Purchase Request Form:

Gifts

DiPietro Library welcomes donations of materials but reserves the right to decide whether or not to accession these items depending on their usefulness and relevance to the collection. Please consult with the University Librarian before donating materials. Donated items become the property of the DiPietro Library. All appraisals of the value of a donation are strictly the responsibility of the donor and will not be undertaken by the Library; nor does the Library in any way affirm the donor's valuation. Donated items not chosen for inclusion in the collection will be sold or given away unless the donor has specifically requested to have them returned to his/her possession.

DiPietro Library also welcomes gifts in honor of graduating seniors, faculty, or others. Please contact the University Librarian if you would like to fund a book in someone's honor.

Reconsideration Policy

The DiPietro Library has established a materials selection policy as outlined above.  If you have concerns regarding the inclusion of any material in our collection, please complete this form.  

More Information

For additional information, please contact the University Librarian