Books whose call number begins with REF are non-circulating and can be found in the lower level of the library. All other print books can be checked out and are located in the main library collection. Please contact a librarian for help finding books or using eBooks. Gale Virtual Reference Library and Credo Reference are digital reference databases that are keyword searchable.
Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise Psychology by
How do athletes overcome fears, slumps, mental blocks, or injuries? How do they deal with stress and anxiety, be it from competitors, teammates, audiences, parents, coaches, or themselves? What psychological techniques prove effective in mental training for peak performance, maintaining concentration, motivation, and competitive drive? How can an athlete enhance his or her commitment to a training regimen, or how might the average person better adhere to a program of fitness and exercise? Readers will find answers to these questions and more in the Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise Psychology.
Encyclopedia of Sports and Athletics Preparation, Performance, and Psychology by 
Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine by
Professional sports is a huge industry, with much riding on the knees of even a single football player. But the playing fields are also filled with an abundance of 'weekend warriors' who value their own knees no less, and with increased participation in sports and exercise programmes, in general, comes increased risk of injury. Sports medicine is relevant not only to collegiate and professional athletes and the health professionals who treat and advise them, but also to parents and their children, amateur athletes and aging people maintaining a fitness regime. These four volumes present state-of-the-art research and evidence-based applications. The work is broad ranging, covering all aspects of sports medicine with perspectives from the medical, behavioural, and social sciences and physical education. From A-to-Z, this work covers the spectrum with entries included from such areas as body systems, regional injuries (craniofacial, shoulder, knee and so on), special populations (female, pediatric, older athletes), sport-specific injuries, rehabilitation, nutrition, substance use and abuse, sports psychology, the team physician and more.