It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Anybody's Sports Medicine Book by James G. Garrick; Peter RadetskyWondering what to do with a sprained ankle? Written by one of the world's leading sports medicine doctors and a well-known science writer, this guide explains why crushed ice is better than cubed, and why you should never soak a swollen ankle in warm water. With each chapter dedicated to a different part of the body, this practical guide gives prevention, treatment, and rehabilitation tips for the most common sports-related injuries, from tendinitis to tennis elbow.
Publication Date: 2004-03-01
Assessment of Athletic Injuries by Sandra J. Shultz; Peggy A. Houglum; David H. PerrinThis text offers step-by-step guidelines for injury recognition and assessment, divided into on-field, off-field and sideline protocols. It has a specific focus on evaluation skills for emergent, non-emergent of post-acute conditions. Evaluation checklists for review and reference are included.
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Sports Injuries by Lars Peterson; Per RenströmThoroughly updated and improved, Sports Injuries: Their Prevention and Treatment, Third Edition,remains an essential handbook for athletic trainers, physical therapists, and physicians. Written by two eminent orthopedic surgeons, the book addresses -acute treatment of athletic injuries, -the biomechanics of sports injuries, -preventive measures, -methods of treatment, -sports injuries by specific area, -injuries during specialized activities, -risks to children and adolescents, and -training of different parts of the body. The clarity of the artwork that made the previous editions of this book so helpful has been maintained. Each of the chapters opens with a series of photographs illustrating the part of the body that will be examined in detail, with page references to where specific injuries are discussed. The authors also point out relevant anatomical features in MRI and CT images to better explain how to interpret them. A chapter on rehabilitative exercises and protocols also contains helpful diagrams. Examples of injuries are drawn from the full range of international sports, from team games to recreational pursuits. With superb color photographs and medical images, specially commissioned full-color diagrams, and an extensive glossary, this comprehensive text is indispensable to all those involved in sport.
Publication Date: 2000-12-12
Sports Injuries by Jennifer BaimaThis volume traces the history of the field of sports medicine and offers an informative survey of the evaluation and treatment of sports injuries across the life cycle. * A glossary explaining important medical and biological terms in everyday language * An extensive bibliography of helpful additional print and online resources
Publication Date: 2009-09-01
Sports Injury Handbook by Allan M. Levy; Mark L. FuerstDo you know... Which exercises cause unnecessary wear and tear on your body? What to do during the first critical few seconds following a sports injury? When an off-the-rack arch support can be as effective as a $200 custom-made orthotic device? How to keep in condition during rehabilitation? Dr. Allan Levy knows. As team doctor for the New York Giants football team, he has treated every kind of sports injury there is, from strains and sprains to more serious tears and fractures. In Sports Injury Handbook, he shares his vast practical knowledge of sports medicine with recreational athletes who want to keep in shape, while minimizing aches, pains, and injuries. For ease of use, the main part of the guide is organized by body part and sport. To find out why, for example, your knee is sore and how to treat it, simply turn to the knee chapter. Then learn how to avoid further risk of knee injuries in sports-specific chapters on aerobics, jogging, tennis, skiing, basketball, and many more. Peppered with firsthand stories and anecdotes from professional sports, the Sports Injury Handbook is an entertaining, informative guide to the latest methods of injury prevention and treatment. In it, you'll discover: The conditioning, nutrition, and strength training techniques professional athletes use to stay in top physical shape Easy, step-by-step rehabilitative exercises you can perform at home Special precautions for women, children, and older athletes How to prevent or treat the most common injuries in more than two dozen sports, including aerobics, baseball, basketball, bowling, boxing, cycling, football, golf, gymnastics, hockey, running, skiing, soccer, swimming, tennis, triathlon, volleyball, walking, and wrestling
Call Number: RD 97 .L48 1993
Publication Date: 1993-06-01
Sports Injuries and Sports Medicine eBooks
ACL Solution by Robert MarxIn "The ACL Solution," you'll find close to 50 ACL-specific exercises designed by Dr. Myklebust, a physical therapist for the Norwegian national women's handball, soccer and volleyball teams, and a world-renowned expert on the science of ACL injury prevention. You'll learn how to better balance your body and strengthen the muscles around your knee to provide greater stability and endurance. Whether you're the parent of active children, a promising young athlete, a coach, or a 40-year-old who lives for his or her weekly basketball league, this book is a must read. "The ACL Solution" Features: The Prevention Program, the center of this book, describes and illustrates the exercises that prevent ACL injuries. A FAQ section, containing commonly asked questions by people who have had recent ACL tears. An anatomy section that describes the anatomy of the knee
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Catastrophic Injuries in Sports and Recreation by Charles H. TatorCatastrophic Injuries in Sport and Recreation is an essential reference guide to safe participation in a wide variety of sports and recreational activities. A masterful achievement of methodology, it is the first complete epidemiological study and analysis of all catastrophic injuries in all sports and recreational activities that occurred within a large defined geographical area with a large population: ten million people within the province of Ontario between 1986 and 1995. Concentrating on injuries that resulted in death or long term disability, the contributors identify both the personal risk factors for participants and the societal risk factors that are important causes for these kinds of injuries. Providing detailed analysis of 2154 case studies, the contributors demonstrate what went wrong in each event, and show how each injury could have been prevented. Recommending specific prevention strategies for a wide range of injuries, Catastrophic Injuries in Sport and Recreation is a practical medical reference for athletes and doctors alike.
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
The Complete Guide to Sports Injuries by Christopher M. Norris
Evidence-Based Sports Medicine by Domhnall MacAuley (Editor); Thomas Best (Editor)This second edition of the popular book Evidence-based Sports Medicine builds on the features that made the first edition such a valuable text and provides a completely up-to-date tool for sports medicine physicians, family practitioners and orthopedic surgeons. Updated to take into account new evidence from systematic reviews and controlled trials, Evidence-based Sports Medicine is a unique reference book on the optimum management of sports-related conditions. This second edition: contains sections on acute injury, chronic conditions, and injuries to the upper limb, groin and knee and to the lower leg pays increased attention to the important and emerging area of injury prevention features thoroughly revised methodology sections within each chapter, reflecting changes in technique and application MCQs and essay questions that allow readers to continually assess their knowledge and understanding of the topics covered Additional information and updates will be available upon publication from www.evidbasedsportsmedicine.com
Publication Date: 2008-04-15
The Healthy Body Handbook by David C. Saidoff; Stuart C. ApfelA healthy, strong body is essential to the enjoyment of life. "The Healthy Body Handbook" was written for all those who place great emphasis on living life fully. It will help you understand the basic structure and function of the musculoskeletal system of the human body, and is written in language easily understood by the layperson, with numerous illustrations. This knowledge will enable you to be proactive about your health, make positive lifestyle choices, prevent injuries, and participate fully in the healing of injuries - especially those that are sports-related. The authors include detailed advice regarding various exercises and the appropriate regimen for stretching and strengthening, both of which are essential to warding off age-related problems. The body sends out warning signals of impending overuse and the resultant potential for injury. In this book you will learn to listen to these signals, evaluate them, and make healthy decisions. The book also incudes information about the remedies and procedures physicians are likely to recommend after injury or illness. A healthy body also supports a healthy intellectual and emotional life. As the great American naturalist and philosopher Henry David Thoreau said, "Methinks that the moment my legs begin to move, my thoughts begin to flow."
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
Pediatric Sports Medicine : Essentials for Office Evaluation by Chris Koutures
Sports Biomechanics: Reducing Injury and Improving Performance by Roger BartlettThis advanced text is the companion volume to Introduction to Sports Biomechanics, also written by Roger Bartlett. Focussing on third year undergraduate and postgraduate topics the text explores sports injury in relation to biomechanics. Part One presents a detailed examination of sports injury, including the properties of biological materials, mechanisms of injury occurrence, risk reduction, and the estimation of forces in biological structures. Part Two concentrates on the biomechanical enhancement of sports performance and covers in detail the analysis of sports technique, statistical and mathematical modelling of sports movements, and the feedback of results to improve performance. Each chapter feature an introduction, summary, references, example exercises and suggestions for further reading, making this an invaluable textbook for students who wish to specialize in sports biomechanics or sports injury and rehabilitation.
Publication Date: 1999-07-26
Sports Hip Injuries by Bryan Kelly (Editor); Asheesh Bedi (Editor)In the world of sports, hip injuries among an athletic population can be very difficult to diagnose and manage. That's why Sports Hip Injuries: Diagnosis and Management is a comprehensive guide to diagnosing and managing sports hip injuries and hip preservation.
Publication Date: 2015-03-15
Sports Injuries and Their Effects on Health by Robert R. Salerno