Advances in Motivation in Sport and Exercise by
Much like its predecessor, Motivation in Sport and Exercise, Advances in Motivation in Sport and Exercisebrings together several top scholars in sport and exercise psychology to present the latest information on motivational behavior in exercise, physical education, and sport. Each contributor sheds new light on the process of motivation and the variables and constructs that help us to understand why we are motivated or are not motivated. This extensive resource thoroughly examines key motivational concepts such as -self-efficacy, -perceived competence, -achievement goals, -self-determination, and -perception of control. Although the contributors employ different frameworks to examine the subject, each uses a social cognitive perspective on motivation, which makes for a more cohesive book rather than just a collection of articles. The research provides valuable insight on enhancing motivation in physical activities. More important, it should inspire the reader to apply this insight in the gym, in the pool, and on the playing field, where it can truly make a difference in performance. Advances in Motivation in Sport and Exerciseis an excellent reference for professionals in both clinical and applied psychology, particularly those who work with athletes, coaches, teachers, and parents.
Applied Sport Psychology by
This is a comprehensive and practical guide to psychological concepts and theories as well as to strategies and techniques designed to help future coaches and sport psychologists cultivate peak performance and personal growth through recent advances in sport psychology. The text's five-part organization focuses on motivation and leadership, social interactions, mental training, program implementation, and issues that go beyond performance enhancement. Contributing authors are experts in their topic, and each chapter has been written specifically for this collection.
Developmental Sport and Exercise Psychology by
Examining sport and exercise psychology, and mainstream psychology, this book shows how developmental factors influence behaviors in physical activity settings. It explores fundamental concepts and controversies, developmental issues in youth and adolescence, and expertise transitions moral development diversity disabilities and injury.
Essential Readings in Sport and Exercise Psychology by
For the first time, the most influential readings in the field of sport and exercise psychology are compiled here in one volume. Essential Readings in Sport and Exercise Psychologycontains the most exciting, innovative, and diverse theoretical orientations and research perspectives generated in the first hundred years of this growing field. In this book, readers will find abridged versions of 50 readings that provide a concise reference to the history, growth, development, and future directions of the field. The book is written by an all-star cast of sport psychologists—all leading professionals from around the world who have been included in a variety of literature reviews and used as references in numerous sport psychology lectures. From the first research article in the field by Norman Triplett in 1898 to papers regarding the more recent challenges of professional practice in the field, the selections in this compilation are the backbone of sport and exercise psychology. Readers will learn about the development and application of commonly used instruments, such as the Competitive State Anxiety Inventory-II, the Group Environment Questionnaire, and the Sport Imagery Questionnaire. This book contains one of Coleman Griffith's influential early writings, Rainer Martens' explorations of science and practice, Ken Ravizza's pioneering work on peak experience, and Robin Vealey's investigation of psychological skills training. These readings are only a few examples of the depth and richness of the content contained in this single volume. The field couldn't be more ready for this first-ever compilation of key readings. The diverse selection of writings is a sign of the field's maturity, and each reading provides valuable context to the progress of exercise and sport psychology. Professionals interested in the development of the subdiscipline will find this text to be an excellent single-volume reference of the important primary research documenting the evolution of the field. Anyone with a passion for sport psychology will benefit from this groundbreaking text. Sport psychology students will gain a solid background for future studies by reviewing proven primary research from the field's biggest names and gain an understanding of how various lines of study have evolved. Experienced scholars and practitioners will enjoy the convenience of having seminal articles all in one essential reference. Instructors will save time by using this inclusive single volume rather than searching for key articles individually. The 50 essential readings in the landmark text are organized in a logical structure that mirrors the path of many texts in the field. Introductions to each part and article orient the reader to the topic being discussed. Part I establishes the historical foundation of sport and exercise psychology. Part II addresses personal factors that affect our understanding of sport and exercise behavior. Part III focuses on environmental and situational factors that affect athletic behavior. Part IV emphasizes the importance of understanding group processes. Part V examines various concepts associated with performance enhancement. Part VI explores the influence psychological factors have on exercise, health, and wellness. Part VII studies how psychological development, growth, and well-being occur and may be facilitated as consequences of sport and exercise participation. The final section, part VIII, examines professional issues critical to any developing academic organization. Essential Readings in Sport and Exercise Psychologyhighlights the creativity and growth in the field and shows how the field will continue to evolve by viewing these readings as the building blocks for a brighter future. There is no better text for understanding the dynamic field of sport and exercise psychology and why it has matured so dramatically and quickly.
Flow in Sports by
" The experience of flow is still one of the least understood phenomena in sport. And yet it is one of the richest, most memorable experiences an athlete will ever know. Some call it a natural ""high."" Others refer to it as being ""in a zone."" Whatever it's called, flow is an elusive and very sought-after psychological state that athletes, coaches, and sport psychologists have tried to understand, harness, and employ to their benefit since Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi first coined the term back in the early 1970s. Now, in the first book devoted exclusively to flow in sports, the pioneering legend Csikszentmihalyi and sport psychology researcher Susan Jackson attempt not only to explain the phenomenon but also to identify the key conditions associated with its occurrence. The book begins with a description of what flow is and is not. Flow is defined as a person's total absorption into an activity. While it is always a peak, satisfying experience, it is not necessarily associated with peak performance on every occasion. Most of the book delves deeply into the key factors leading up to and accompanying the flow experience. The authors also recommend certain actions on the part of the athlete or coach to optimize the conditions in training and performance that allow flow to occur. The book is full of vivid examples, captivating quotes, and revealing research findings that enhance the authors' clear and insightful text. The sport setting is rife with opportunities to experience flow-be it in pick-up games or the Olympics. But until now, flow has been an infrequent, accidental, and even mysterious phenomenon to most athletes. With Flow in Sports, this optimal experience becomes both more familiar and more achievable. Get to know flow, and get into it. Find out what you've been missing. "
Foundations of Sport and Exercise Psychology by
"This text captures the world of sport and exercise psychology. It not only explains the basic concepts and principles in the field, but it also shows how they apply to counseling, teaching, coaching, sport medicine and fitness instruction." "Foundations of Sport and Exercise Psychology (Second Edition) contains visuals, anecdotes, case studies, critical thinking questions, and references."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Handbook of Sport Psychology by
Competitive sports demand as much discipline and training of the mind as they do of the body. Sport psychologists, coaches, and athletes are constantly searching for new and effective approaches to pain management, exercise psychology, building self confidence, and measuring progress.
Psychological Dynamics of Sport and Exercise by
Psychological Dynamics of Sport and Exercise, Second Editionis extensively revised to reflect the tremendous growth of the sport and exercise psychology field since 1986, when the first edition was released. Internationally renowned sport psychologist Diane Gill presents a text combining comprehensive theory and research-based coverage of social, health, and applied sport and exercise psychology. This book will provide students with a current overview of the field, and it will provide researchers and practitioners with a solid foundation for further study or research. This advanced edition features new chapters focusing on approaches to knowledge, goal setting, stress management, and psychological skills training, plus updated material on personality, self-perceptions, motivations, social relations, and group dynamics. Additional highlights include an up-to-date synthesis of exciting advances in the field and a more in-depth overview of the subject than its predecessor. Psychological Dynamics of Sport and Exercise, Second Editionfeatures a fresh design with more art and photos as well as features to optimize student learning, including chapter learning objectives, chapter summaries, key points, review questions, and key references--an annotated list of recommended readings. Part I,provides a framework for the psychological dynamics of sport and exercise. The focus and scope, historical roots, and varying approaches to sport and exercise psychology are explored. Part II,focuses on individual characteristics that influence behavior by examining literature on personality and sport-specific psychological skills as well as individual differences in attention and cognitive styles and self-perceptions. Part III,examines motivational processes in sport and exercise by covering major theories and current research on achievement, competitiveness, competitive anxiety, and emotion. Part IV,places the emphasis on practical application and examines research and practical guidelines related to psychological skills training interventions for individuals in sport and exercise settings. Part V,emphasizes social influences on behavior in sport and exercise settings by exploring interpersonal relations and group processes. Psychological Dynamics of Sport and Exercise, Second Editionis an excellent text and outstanding reference. Comprehensive, revised, and expanded, it's a must-have for a complete, succinct overview of sport and exercise psychology.
Psychology of Sport Injury by 
The Executive Athlete by
OC Executive athletesOCO practice and compete, win some and lose some. Then they do it all over again OCo just like athletes. The Executive Athlete is all about the similarities between executives who want to achieve high levels of performance and athletes who play at the top of their game. Dr. Gerson has spent years coaching, testing and training business people to use sport psychology to better their performances. HeOCOs found you get measurable performance improvements if you treat and train business people like athletes. He takes you inside the minds of athletes and shows you how they mentally train themselves. YouOCOll learn how to use those same mental training techniques on yourself and in your business setting so you can play at the top of your game. Learn how to make failure work for you, coach yourself and others out of a performance slump, overcome self-doubt and negative attitudes OCo and hundreds of other tips for becoming a superstar from within.