Exercise Science

Moving to Discover the U. S. A. by Mike Lee; Rhonda L. Clements "The lessons and activities in Moving to Discover the USA can help you spark your students' imaginations by using movement to teach lessons about the people, symbols, and events of American history, geography, geology, and culture. The lessons are ideally suited for children in grades K-4." "Moving to Discover the USA provides more than 200 original games, rhymes, and songs to get kids moving and involved. Most activities provided require a minimum of space and little or no equipment. Each subsection of the book has a theme page to help teachers find topics to supplement existing elementary school curricula. And each lesson is clearly illustrated, allowing you to practice basic movement skills before organizing a game, song, dance, or movement activity." "The book is divided into eight sections: Americana, This Land, Famous Americans, Native Americans, Man-Made Landmarks, Natural Wonders, Building a Country, and Transportation. It addresses common topics by age level and according to national standards. With 42 lessons on subjects ranging from Harriet Tubman, to cowpokes, to the Grand Canyon, this innovative guide adds liveliness to your lesson plans."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

P. E. Teacher's Skill-by-Skill Activities Program by L. F. 'Bud' Turner; Susan Lilliman Turner This unique resource provides scores of easy-to conduct games, activities, and lessons. Students can build skills in nine different athletic areas while gaining an understanding of the basic concepts, rules, and terminology of each particular sport.

Rhythmic Activities and Dance by John P. Bennett; Pamela C. Riemer Provides guidelines for teaching developmentally appropriate dance and rhythmic activities to students.

The Sports Medicine Bible for Young Athletes by Lyle J. Mitcheli (Editor, Illustrator); Mark Jenkins Of the thousands of children's sports injuries that take place each year, many could be prevented through a proper understanding of conditioning and fitness. In one volume, The Sports Medicine Bible for Young Athletes contains everything you need to know about how to prevent or respond to every kind of children's sports injury. This comprehensive guide addresses: -- Children's fitness levels -- Nutrition for the young athlete -- Special considerations for young female athletes -- Guidelines for young athletes with chronic medical conditions (e.g., asthma) Much of the book is devoted to the treatment of various injuries, from foot and heel to head and neck injuries. In addition, you will receive hands-on advice on the specific risks and dangers of each sport, from basketball and baseball to soccer and football. Whether your child is a seasoned athlete or simply enjoys playing sports, this is a must-have reference book.

The Ultimate Sport Lead-up Game Book by Guy Bailey

Ahead of the Game by Rosemarie Scolaro Moser; Bill Pascrell (Contribution by) Sports-related concussions, also known as mild traumatic brain injuries, have become a national epidemic. As many as 63 percent of high school students have already had at least one concussion, while another 500,000 children between the ages of ten and fourteen visit ERs for concussion annually. New research has shown that there is no such thing as a simple “bell-ringer,” and that sending a child back on the field too soon puts his or her physical and emotional health at risk. Yet it is all too easy to miss the warning signs of concussion, or to encourage kids to “walk off” a potentially devastating injury. Ahead of the Game is the first book to give parents of school-aged athletes the tools they need to keep kids safe on the field, court, diamond, or rink. A pioneer in youth concussion research since the 1990s, this leading brain-behavior expert, neuropsychologist, and sports mom, Dr. Rosemarie Scolaro Moser, has worked with thousands of youth athletes, as well as professional sports teams. Dr. Moser explains: • Helmets and mouth guards, even when properly fitted, cannot prevent concussion • Concussions may negatively affect a child’s GPA, school performance, and emotional behavior • Girls are more vulnerable to concussion than boys • State concussion laws may not be enough to keep kids safe Ahead of the Game clearly lays out the basics of identification, management, and treatment of concussion in kids, and details the vital steps we can take to protect their most vital organ—the brain—before an injury occurs.

Care of the Young Athlete by S. Sally Harris This best-selling resource gives you an easy-to-use, one-stop guide to all aspects of childhood sports preparation, participation, and injury treatment.a The newly enhanced and updated second edition covers safety and risk-management considerations; procedural how-to's for the preparticipation physical examination; the latest treatment recommendations on proper nutrition for athletes; proven injury prevention guidelines; detailed treatments for dozens of injuries; and more. Topics have been selected to reflect the health and safety issues most likely to be encountered by primary care practitioners.aNumerous color photos and illustrations bring the authoritative text to life.a"

Coaching Children in Sport by Martin Lee This book has arisen out of a need for a text which tackles the special issues relating to coaching children (from 6 - 16) in sport. Academics (many with coaching experience) and practitioners have been commissioned to write on their specialist areas.

Fit Kids -- Smarter Kids by Jeff Galloway

Fitness Measures and Health Outcomes in Youth by Committee on Fitness Measures and Health Outcomes in Youth; Food and Nutrition Board; Institute of Medicine; Maria Oria (Editor); Russell Pate (Editor); Laura Pillsbury (Editor) Physical fitness affects our ability to function and be active. At poor levels, it is associated with such health outcomes as diabetes and cardiovascular disease. Physical fitness testing in American youth was established on a large scale in the 1950s with an early focus on performance-related fitness that gradually gave way to an emphasis on health-related fitness. Using appropriately selected measures to collected fitness data in youth will advance our understanding of how fitness among youth translates into better health. In Fitness Measures and Health Outcomes in Youth, the IOM assesses the relationship between youth fitness test items and health outcomes, recommends the best fitness test items, provides guidance for interpreting fitness scores, and provides an agenda for needed research. The report concludes that selected cardiorespiratory endurance, musculoskeletal fitness, and body composition measures should be in fitness surveys and in schools. Collecting fitness data nationally and in schools helps with setting and achieving fitness goals and priorities for public health at an individual and national level.

Injury in Pediatric and Adolescent Sports by Dennis Caine (Editor); Laura Purcell (Editor) Providing a state-of-the-art account of the nature, distribution and determinants of sports injury in children and adolescents, this unique volume uses the public health model to describe the scope of the injury problem and the associated risk factors and evaluate the current research on injury prevention strategies as described in the literature. Thoughtfully divided in six sections, the nature of the young athlete and epidemiology of pediatric and adolescent sports injury are described first. Then an overview of the most common types of youth sports injuries as well as more serious injuries (e.g., concussions) and outcomes is presented, followed by a discussion of injury causation and prevention. Suggestions for future research rounds out the presentation. Each chapter is illustrated with tables which make it easy to examine injury factors between studies. Throughout, the editors and contributors have taken an evidence-based approach and adopted a uniform methodology to assess the data available. Ideal for physicians, physical therapists, athletic trainers and sports scientists alike, Injury in Pediatric and Adolescent Sports concisely and accurately presents the situation faced by clinicians treating young athletes and the challenges they face in keeping up with this growing and active population. Furthermore, the information in this book will be useful to allied health researchers and sport governing bodies as an informed basis for continued epidemiological study and implementation of injury prevention initiatives designed to reduce the incidence and severity of injuries encountered by young athletes.   

Is Soccer Bad for Children's Heads? by Margie Patlak; Janet E. Joy; Neuroscience and Behavioral Health Board Staff; Institute of Medicine (U.S.) Staff To explore whether soccer playing puts youths at risk for lasting brain damage, the Institute of Medicine brought together experts in head injury, sports medicine, pediatrics, and bioengineering. In a workshop entitled "Youth Soccer: Neuropsychological Consequences of Head Impact in Sports," that was held in Washington D.C. on October 12, 2001, these experts presented the scientific evidence for long-term consequences of head injury from youth sports, especially soccer, possible approaches to reduce the risks, and policy issues raised by the subject. Some of the findings presented by the speakers raised concerns, such as the high concussion rate of high school soccer players, the frequent persistence of impaired brain functions even after other symptoms of a concussion disappear, and the need for a better understanding of when it is safe for players to resume playing after they have had a concussion. But other findings were reassuring, such as studies that suggest that with the type of soccer balls used in the United States, heading is not likely to cause brain injury in youths, nor is playing soccer likely to cause permanent brain damage. This is a summary of the reports from these experts in the field, and the lively discussions that followed them. Topics covered include: causes of head injuries in soccer; how to detect a concussion; the biology of concussion; studies of soccer and football players; the role of protective headgear; and policy implications, such as how to decide when a concussed player should be allowed to return to the playing field.

Load carriage in school children: epidemiology and exercise science by Youlian Hong

Pediatric Sports Medicine : Essentials for Office Evaluation by Chris Koutures

Playdancing by Diane Lynch-Fraser; Diane Lynch Fraser Playdancing is a creative movement program developed to foster confidence, creativity and problem-solving skills in children aged three to eight. The book is written primarily for teachers' use in the classroom. The book is geared toward educators and the activities do not require experience with dance. The only prerequisite for its contents is a desire to discover the creative potential children possess and to guide them in their ability to utilize their creativity. Playdancing discusses the developmental stages of early childhood and the specific skills necessary for creativity to flourish. Lesson plans and examples of activities are outlined for each stage of development. Each activity listed includes an objective, the materials needed, suggestions for incorporating new activities into an already in-use curriculum and a description of the activity. The activities are designed to increase spatial self-awareness, improve language ability and encourage interpersonal skills. Chapters include: The Dancing Child: The Magical Link Between Movement and Creativity; The Playdancing Program and How It Works; The Growing Child: Looking at Development; The Creative Process; Discovering the Body; Self-Awareness: Who Am I?; Language: How Do I Tell You How I Feel?; Interpersonal Skills: Getting to Know You; The Talented Child: Identifying Giftedness. Includes 22 illustrations.

Primary PE by Anne Williams; Joanne Cliffe This book is about primary PE and its potential to contribute to primary education, not only as a discrete subject but also across the whole curriculum. It addresses many strategies and initiatives that have been set up to enhance primary practice and pupil achievement.