It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Anatomy of Exercise and Movement for the Study of Dance, Pilates, Sports, and Yoga by Jo Ann Staugaard-JonesAwareness of movement potential," says author Jo Ann Staugaard-Jones, "is key to a healthy body and injury prevention." The Anatomy of Exercise & Movement shows readers how to gain that awareness by understanding the biomechanics of movement. In ten chapters, color-coded for easy reference, the author covers all of the major muscle and joint areas, including the spine; core region; shoulder; elbow; wrist and hand; and hip, knee, and ankle/foot joints. Most importantly, each chapter contains strengthening and stretching exercises for all of the abovenbsp;areas. Developed as a handbook, The Anatomy of Exercise & Movement is an accessible resource for anyone who would like to know more about his or her body, how it moves, and what can be done to improve that movement. The more than 275 high-quality, four-color anatomical drawings and the broad scope of muscle andnbsp;joint groups make this one of the most important guides to the moving body on the market. A helpful "Myths" page at the end of each chapter debunks many of the misunderstandings and rumors about fitness that have circulated over the years.
Call Number: QP 301 .S775 2011
Publication Date: 2011-09-06
Anatomy Trains by Thomas W. MyersThe new edition of this hugely successful book continues to present a unique understanding of the role of fascia in healthy movement and postural distortion which is of vital importance to bodyworkers and movement therapists worldwide. Fully updated throughout and now with accompanying website (www.myersmyofascialmeridians.com), Anatomy Trains: Myofascial Meridians for Manual and Movement Therapists will be ideal for all those professionals who have an interest in human movement: massage therapists, structural integration practitioners, craniosacral therapists, yoga teachers, osteopaths, manual therapists, physiotherapists, athletic trainers, personal trainers, dance and movement teachers, chiropractors and acupuncturists. "There is a clinical relevance to this book that could change the thinking of most physiotherapists and encourage a more "whole body" approach to therapy." Reviewed by: Sam Blanchard, Head of Academy Physiotherapy, Brighton & Hove Albion Football club. Date: Aug 2014 Provides a revolutionary approach to the study of human anatomy which has been shown to improve the outcomes of physical therapies traditionally used to manage pain and other musculoskeletal disorders Describes a theory which is applicable to all common types of movement, posture analysis and physical treatment modalities Layout designed to allow the reader to gather the concept quickly or gain a more detailed understanding of any given area according to need Design icons direct readers to their own specialist areas of interest, e.g. manual therapy, movement therapy, visual assessment, kinaesthetic education or supplementary video material Appendices discuss the relevance of the Anatomy Trains concept to the work of Dr Louis Schultz (Meridians of Latitude), Ada Rolf (Structural Integration) and the practice of Oriental Medicine Accompanying website (www.myersmyofascialmeridians.com) presents multi-media exploration of the concepts described in the book - film clips from Kinesis DVDs, computer graphic representations of the Anatomy Trains, supplementary dissection photographs and video clips, webinars, and some extra client photos for visual assessment practice Text updated in relation to the most up-to-date research originally published at the International Fascia Research Congress, Vancouver, 2012 Includes the latest evidence for the scientific basis of common clinical findings, including preliminary evidence from human fascial dissections Explores the role of fascia as our largest sensory organ Contains updates arising out of continual teaching and practice - for example, the role of the fascia and its interconnectivity in the generation of pain and/or force transmission New chapter discusses the role of Anatomy Trains theory in the analysis of gait Video clips on an associated website (www.myersmyofascialmeridians.com) present examples of the concepts explored in the book Podcasts on the website explore the therapeutic techniques involved Website addresses and references fully updated throughout
Call Number: QM 563 .M98 2014
Publication Date: 2014-02-11
Applied Kinesiology, Revised Edition by Robert Frost; George J. Goodheart (Foreword by)The revised edition of the best-selling book on Applied Kinesiology, Applied Kinesiology, Revised Edition introduces a diagnostic method that uses manual muscle testing to assess the body's "Triad of Health"--structure, chemistry, and psyche. To perform a muscle test, the practitioner applies light pressure that the client then resists. If the client cannot resist the pressure, the muscle "tests weak," indicating a structural problem or imbalance that needs to be resolved. Further applications include working with a muscle that tests strong "in the clear" as a diagnostic tool to determine the effect of stimuli including touch, nutrients, medicines, allergens, emotions, poor posture, and stressful memories. Opening with a detailed description of the history and applications of Applied Kinesiology, the book covers the theory, procedure, and intepretation of the muscle test including diagnosis and correction techniques for areas of weakness. Thirty-three muscle tests for different areas of the body are accompanied by instructive photographs with superimposed anatomical drawings that demonstrate the method and various treatment points. A useful appendix includes a glossary of anatomical terms and special vocabulary; a step-by-step plan for conducting a session; and a list of contacts and sources for Applied Kinesiology materials. Offering a new preface and additional techniques in the areas of manual medicine, orthomolecular medicine, and psychology, this revised edition shares the author's discoveries as well as anecdotal observations to stimulate further research. Table of Contents: Foreword; Introduction; Chapter 1: From Biomechanics to Applied Kinesiology; Chapter 2: Scientific Principles of Applied Kinesiology; Chapter 3: The Muscle Test; Chapter 4: Pretests; Chapter 5: Diagnosis and Correction Techniques; Chapter 6: Muscle Tests; Chapter 7: Applied Kinesiology and Manual Medicine; Chapter 8: Applied Kinesiology and Orthomolecular Medicine; Chapter 9: Applied Kinesiology and the Psyche; Chapter 10: Personal Discoveries and Garnered Methods for Further Consideration; Appendices; Index
Call Number: QP 303 .F76 2013
Publication Date: 2013-08-20
Introduction to Kinesiology by Shirl J. HoffmanIntroduction to Kinesiology, Second Edition,provides a comprehensive, reader-friendly overview of kinesiology, laying a solid foundation for future learning and for working as a professional in any field relating to physical activity. This new edition is significantly updated and revamped, featuring these additions: -Expanded information and advice on careers relating to the field of kinesiology, including short- and long-term employment opportunities, allowing students to benefit from an inclusive and accurate job outlook early in their college careers -New schematics and visual effects to help students better understand the content, including more relevant photos to illustrate text points and new artwork to help clarify important conceptual connections -New profiles featuring significant scholars in the field -New and improved sidebars, interactive items, and key points to engage students more deeply and to acquaint them with relevant issues and problems Introduction to Kinesiology, Second Edition,contains updated research, statistics, and discussion focusing on practical applications in the field and offering advice about each profession in kinesiology. These features will help students identify and work toward attaining their career goals. The text uses a visually appealing pedagogical approach, including key points and interactive items as well as opening scenarios of real-world dilemmas encountered by professionals in the field, objectives, summaries, key terms, and a glossary. The new edition reinforces readers' learning through both text and graphic features. Part I,Experiencing Physical Activity, provides an extensively rewritten introduction to the field of kinesiology and goes into greater detail on exercise and skilled movement. It also delves into physical activity participation patterns, updated information on the relevance of physical activity to daily living, and how various professionals in the field incorporate physical activity into their educational, developmental, and treatment programs. Part II,Scholarly Study of Physical Activity, with chapters on subdisciplines, has been reorganized and simplified, making those topics easier to comprehend. It includes greater coverage of physical education as a career pursuit and features chapters from several new collaborators, adding to the richness of the text's perspective and insight. Part III,Practicing a Profession in Physical Activity, includes a new chapter on careers in coaching and sport instruction and an updated chapter on therapeutic exercise, with information on careers in physical and occupational therapy. This new edition improves on the already-solid foundation of learning laid in the first edition. Its superior content and reasonable price make this text an ideal choice for undergraduate kinesiology courses.
Call Number: QP 303 .I53 2005
Publication Date: 2005-01-17
Kinesiology by David Paul Greene; Susan L. RobertsApproaching the subject of kinesiology from the perspective of occupational therapy, this unique text written by occupational therapists examines the everyday activities of people using the principles of biomechanics to adapt to changes in their functional abilities. This new edition stresses applicability to clinical practice with the inclusion of case examples. In-depth coverage of wrist and hand pathokinesiology, as well as normal kinesiology function of the wrist and fingers Key terms, chapter outlines, and applications that enhance studying and learning 12 appendices and a glossary with metric conversions, review of mathematics, a diagram of body segment parameters, and laboratory activities New material providing explanations of the pathokinesiology of shoulder subluxation, rotator cuff tear, adhesive capsulitis, fractures, tendon injuries, and shoulder problems secondary to CVA More case studies and less emphasis on heavy calculations to ensure the concepts are more easily grasped Perforated lab manual filled with activities tied directly to the chapters Enhanced illustrations for easier visualization of the concepts demonstrated
Call Number: QP 303 .G74 2005
Publication Date: 2004-12-17
Perceived Exertion by Bruce Noble; Robert Robertson; Gunnar A. V. Borg (Foreword by)Destined to be the standard reference on perceived exertion for years to come, >Perceived Exertion> is a must for every exercise testing laboratory and clinical exercise setting.Part Ireviews the background and development of the field of perceived exertion. The authors discuss the development of Borg's RPE (rating of perceived exertion) scale and other recent measurement models.Part IIdelves into the physiological and psychological factors that affect perceived exertion.Part IIIfocuses on the use of RPE in exercise testing and prescription and presents a global model of perceived exertion.
Call Number: QP 303 .N55 1996
Publication Date: 1996-05-01
Sport Mechanics for Coaches by Brendan BurkettMost coaches are reluctant to study sport mechanics; from experience they equate it with boring texts loaded with formulas, calculations, and scientific terminology. That’s not the case with Sport Mechanics for Coaches. This updated third edition provides an introductory look at the mechanics of sport in a manner that’s understandable and usable for the novices in the field. Author Brendan Burkett—Paralympic gold medalist and world-record holder—pours his love of sport and his expertise as an award-winning engineer and biomechanics professor into this enhanced, revised, and reformatted text. Divided into three parts covering the fundamentals of sport mechanics, mechanical principles, and application of the knowledge to sport contexts, this text highlights real-life sporting achievements and the mechanics behind them. Various pedagogical aids including review questions and practical activities are featured, allowing students and coaches to gauge their understanding of key concepts chapter by chapter. Since the previous edition was published, technological advancements have expanded the coach’s and athlete’s toolbox. Sport Mechanics for Coachesincludes nearly 150 illustrations and photos and all-new content to help readers understand and incorporate technology and state-of-the-art sport equipment to enhance training, identify errors in technique, and improve performance. Coaches, students, and athletes with a curiosity about how and why things work in the world of sport and a desire to improve performance will find Sport Mechanics for Coachesrefreshingly easy to read, comprehend, and put into practice.
Publication Date: 2010-01-22
Statistics in Kinesiology by William J. VincentStatistics in Kinesiology, Third Edition,is an introductory text that will help students learn how to use a variety of statistical techniques. The book uses examples and data sets that should be familiar to students majoring in kinesiology and related fields, thus making it easier to learn and apply the statistical concepts. This new edition contains the following features: -Updates and revisions that develop statistical techniques in a simpler and clearer way -Upgraded content with new and extensive problem sets to help students interact with the subject matter -Techniques that can be applied to kinesiological subdisciplines and that are relevant to the movement sciences Using statistical techniques from physical education, exercise science, administration, and pedagogy, students with basic algebraic skills will be able to interpret data by hand calculation and check their results against computer output. While the text preserves its basic techniques, there is expanded content on computer usage in relation to statistics, which will further enhance understanding and reflect the changes in the field. By gaining knowledge of the mathematical formulas used by software programs, students will learn to critically evaluate computer results and interpret data with greater confidence and ease. The extensive problem sets, complete with answers, come with key words to identify the content that students should carefully review. The new problem sets in this edition are designed to help students interact more fully with the content and thus more fully learn the concepts and techniques. In the early chapters, students receive a thorough introduction to measurement, statistics, and research; learn how to organize and display data; and calculate using percentiles. Students then move on to study measures of central tendency and variability, curves and sampling errors, and correlations and different types of regressions. Later they learn how to use t tests and how to analyze variance, comparing means and using repeated measures. Students also learn advanced statistical procedures and how to analyze nonparametric data. This new edition is highly readable and well illustrated with figures explaining or demonstrating statistical concepts. By using Statistics in Kinesiology, Third Edition,students should gain a firm knowledge on the relevant statistical techniques used in physical activity fields, and professionals have a great reference at their fingertips.
Call Number: QP 303 .V53 2005
Publication Date: 2004-12-22
The Student's Anatomy of Exercise Manual by Ken AshwellHealth and fitness trainers, students of sports science, and men and women intent on getting into better physical shape will recognize and value this manual as a key guidebook and information resource. Its contents include-- 50 essential exercises, described and illustrated, and including stretching, weightlifting, and cardiovascular routines 200 anatomical color illustrations showing the active and stabilizer muscles used in each exercise A glossary of anatomical terms A 30-page workbook section with line illustrations of the muscular system Health and fitness students are advised to use the workbook by shading the various parts of the muscular system with colored pencils as an aid to memorizing locations of muscles. Visualizing and understanding which muscles are activated during exercise helps to improve the effectiveness of workout and rehabilitation routines. Full-color illustrations throughout.
Call Number: QP 303 .A84 2012
Publication Date: 2012-10-01
Your Body Can Talk by Susan L. Levy; Carol LehrAn elegantly presented manual on clinical kinesiology with relevant information on remedies, acupuncture, PMS and menopause. A 'must have' for anyone in the healing professions and for everyone interested in better health.
Call Number: RZ 251 .A65 L48 2014
Publication Date: 2015-02-25
Clinical Kinesiology and Anatomy by LippertEmphasises on clinical insights and functional connections. This edition is suitable for the clinical kinesiology course to help students analyze the mobility of specific joints in various activities of daily living. The chapters describe the various body systems, terminology, and biomechanical principles.
Kinesiology for Dummies by Steve Glass; Brian Hatzel; Rick AlbrechtMove at your own pace with this kinesiology course guide A required course for majors pursuing sports medicine, exercise science, nursing, or sports therapy degrees, kinesiology is central to a variety of fields. Kinesiology For Dummies tracks an introductory course in the science and imparts the basics of human body movement. With this resource, you will learn how physical activity can alleviate chronic illnesses and disabilities, what factors contribute to musculoskeletal injury, and how to reverse those influences. Complete with a 16-page color insert of medical instructions, this book covers the basics of exercise physiology, exercise and health psychology, introductory biomechanics, motor control, history and philosophy of sport and exercise, and mind-body connections. Written by experts in exercise science Addresses a timely subject as exercise science careers and majors are increasingly popular Runs parallel to a kinesiology course with accessible, concise language Interested learners, kinesiology students, and health or sports therapy professionals will benefit from this refresher course in the basics.
Publication Date: 2014-01-30
Principles of Kinesiology by Maggie La Tourelle; Anthea Courtenay (As told to)Kinesiology is a system of natural health care that combines muscle testing with the principles of Chinese medicine to assess energy and body function. A touch therapy, it uses a range of gentle yet powerful healing techniques and can be effective in the treatment of many conditions, including allergies, backache, fatigue, emotional difficulties, headaches and skin and bowel problems. This book describes how kinesiology can help with these problems by correcting imbalances found in the different forms of kinesiology assessment.This introductory guide explains how kinesiology works, how to find a practitioner and how it is usefully applied with other therapies, as well as how self-help techniques can be applied. It will be of interest to anyone considering kinesiology treatment, or simply wanting to find out more about this healing system. Students and practitioners of kinesiology and related practices will find it to be a useful reference, and a perfect introduction to recommend to clients.
Publication Date: 2013-02-28
Kinesiology - a Medical Dictionary, Bibliography, and Annotated Research Guide to Internet References by Icon Group International, Inc. Staff (Compiled by)This is a 3-in-1 reference book. It gives a complete medical dictionary covering hundreds of terms and expressions relating to kinesiology. It also gives extensive lists of bibliographic citations. Finally, it provides information to users on how to update their knowledge using various Internet resources. The book is designed for physicians, medical students preparing for Board examinations, medical researchers, and patients who want to become familiar with research dedicated to kinesiology. If your time is valuable, this book is for you. First, you will not waste time searching the Internet while missing a lot of relevant information. Second, the book also saves you time indexing and defining entries. Finally, you will not waste time and money printing hundreds of web pages.
Publication Date: 2004-06-01
Biomechanics and Motor Control by Mark L. Latash; Vladimir ZatsiorskyBiomechanics and Motor Control: Defining Central Concepts provides a thorough update to the rapidly evolving fields of biomechanics of human motion and motor control with research published in biology, psychology, physics, medicine, physical therapy, robotics, and engineering consistently breaking new ground. This book clarifies the meaning of the most frequently used terms, and consists of four parts, with part one covering biomechanical concepts, including joint torques, stiffness and stiffness-like measures, viscosity, damping and impedance, and mechanical work and energy. Other sections deal with neurophysiological concepts used in motor control, such as muscle tone, reflex, pre-programmed reactions, efferent copy, and central pattern generator, and central motor control concepts, including redundancy and abundance, synergy, equilibrium-point hypothesis, and motor program, and posture and prehension from the field of motor behavior. The book is organized to cover smaller concepts within the context of larger concepts. For example, internal models are covered in the chapter on motor programs. Major concepts are not only defined, but given context as to how research came to use the term in this manner. Presents a unified approach to an interdisciplinary, fragmented area Defines key terms for understanding Identifies key theories, concepts, and applications across theoretical perspectives Provides historical context for definitions and theory evolution
Publication Date: 2015-10-06
Basic Anatomy and Kinesiology Especially for Dancers